Featured Books/E-Books
A Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics by Call Number: P29 .C65 2023 ReferenceISBN: 9781119184539Seventh edition.
Critical Concepts for the Creative Humanities by Call Number: BH301.C84 T83 2022 ReferenceISBN: 9781538147740
Twentieth-Century and Contemporary American Literature in Context by Call Number: PS221 .T94 2021 ReferenceISBN: 9781440853586v.1-4
Murphy Library News & Updates
Campus Resources
Key Resources
- MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowCitations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers. Subjects: literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, historical aspects of printing and publishing, rhetoric, composition, and the teaching of language and literature.
- Project Muse Journals This link opens in a new windowIncludes the full text of over 300 scholarly journals in the fields of: literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAn archive of more than 4,600 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences from nearly 1,200 publishers. Thanks to both the Murphy Library Endowment Fund and UWL Student Differential Tuition for providing access to the JSTOR Arts & Sciences XV collection.
- Literary Reference Plus (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowContains more than 36,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, more than 80,000 articles/essays of literary criticism, more than 250,000 author biographies, more than 450 literary journals, more than 900,000 book reviews, nearly 100,000 classic and contemporary poems, more than 27,000 classic and contemporary short stories, nearly 10,000 author interviews, and more than 7,400 classic novels, plus reference texts including Beacham’s Research Guide to Biography and Criticism (six volumes), The Oxford Illustrated History of English Literature, all of MagillOnLiterature Plus, and Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature & Criticism. Access alternative interface
- Poetry & Short Story Reference Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowFull-text classic and contemporary poems, short stories, biographies, essays, lesson plans and learning guides.
- Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowThis resource contains up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Includes content from Contemporary Authors and Dictionary of Literary Biography.
- Gale Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new windowAll volumes of: Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC), Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC), Children's Literature Review (CLR). Also included through 2008: Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism (NCLC), Shakespearean Criticism (SC), Literature Criticism from 1400-1800 (LC), Classical & Medieval Literature Criticism (CMLC), Poetry Criticism (PC), Short Story Criticism (SSC), Drama Criticism (DC)
- Literary Index (Gale) This link opens in a new windowThis resource is a master index to over 130 literature products from Gale. It combines and cross-references over 165,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and listings for over 215,000 titles into one source.
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new windowThe accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium covering the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.
Quick Tips: OED Guide (pdf) - Gale Literature: LitFinder This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a wealth of literary works and secondary-source materials covering world literature and authors throughout history. Contains more than 132,000 full-text poems and 670,000 poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. Biographies, work summaries, photographs, and a glossary are also included.
- Dictionary of American Regional English (Harvard University Press) This link opens in a new windowThis dictionary documents words, phrases, and pronunciations that vary from one place to another across the United States. The entries in DARE include regional pronunciations, variant forms, some etymologies, and regional and social distributions of the words and phrases. Includes interactive maps and audio clips.
- Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new windowIncludes more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of 12,000 authors from all eras and genres. DLB Complete Online includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series - all delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals.
Research Help
Librarians can help you learn to make the most of the information resources, tools, and services of Murphy Library and beyond!
Weekdays & Sunday afternoons (fall/spring):
Any time (year-round):
- Email us -- we'll email you back asap
- Schedule an appointment (in-person or online)
Local history and/or archives research? Special Collections / Area Research Center specialists are available!
- Email us at specoll@uwlax.edu
- Call us at 608.785.8511
Browse English Journals
Locating Journal Information
Use these directories to find information about submission guidelines, acceptance rates, peer-review status, and scope of various journals related to literature and language studies.
- MLA Directory of Periodicals (Modern Language Association) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowDetailed information on over 7,100 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed in the International Bibliography. The detailed entries include editorial contact information, as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines.