This is the "Dissertations and Theses" page of the "Dissertations and Theses" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Murphy Library

Dissertations and Theses   Tags: dissertations, multidisciplinary, theses  

Last Updated: Oct 23, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uwlax.edu/dissertations Print Guide RSS Updates
Dissertations and Theses Print Page
  Search: 
 

UW-L Master's Theses, Available Online

  • UW-L Master's Theses
    Part of MINDS@UW La Crosse.
    Most theses available here date from 2005 to the present.
 

UW-L Master's Theses, Listed in the Library Catalog

Searching the Catalog:

The best method to find UW-L theses is to search the UW-La Crosse Books and Media scope (the Library Catalog) for the search terms: la crosse AND thesis.

Example: la crosse AND thesis AND recreation AND wisconsin

Search example

For UW-L seminar papers, instead of the search term "thesis" use the search phrase, "seminar papers".

For UW-L graduate projects (done by MEPD students), instead of "thesis" use the search phrase, "graduate projects."

You may also choose to browse the library catalog by Library of Congress call number.  Browse for the call number WT for theses, WS for seminar papers, or WX for graduate projects.  These materials are shelved by call number in the second floor stacks in the library.

Example: WT

First, select the Browse Search function in Search@UW:

Browse

Then, enter the call number to browse:

 

UW-L Master's Theses, On the Shelves in the Library

Browsing the Stacks:

Theses written by UW-L students can be found in the second floor stacks (1958-2009) and in Special Collections (1958-present), shelved at the call number: WT

Seminar papers written by UW-L students from 1958-2010 can be found in the second floor stacks and in Special Collections, shelved at the call number: WS

Graduate projects written by UW-L students from 1979-2009 can be found in the second floor stacks and in Special Collections, shelved at the call number: WX

 

Dissertations and Theses on Microform

Murphy Library has a collection of master's and doctorial microfiche collection of papers in physical education. The set is compiled by the University of Oregon. The papers are cataloged and can be searched in the same way as described above. Use the term thesis and other search terms to find master's and doctoral papers in this collection. 

The library also subscribes to other compilations and directories of theses and dissertations on microfilm or microfiche. Please contact Reference Services for more information.

Murphy Library Databases

  • Dissertations & Theses [PQDT] (ProQuest)  
      
      Icon  Icon  Icon
    Index of all doctoral dissertations and some master's theses from most North American and many European colleges and universities. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and some retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Access made possible by UW-L Student Differential Tuition.
  • American Doctoral Dissertations, 1933-1955  Icon  Icon
    Provides electronic access to Doctoral Dissertations Accepted by American Universities, the comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by American universities during that time period. Containing twenty-two years of dissertation research and amounting to nearly 100,000 citations, it was created with the support of the H. W. Wilson Foundation and the Congregational Library & Archives in Boston.
  • OregonPDF in Health & Performance  Icon  Icon
    Collection of graduate research studies (theses and dissertations) on movement and physical activity. Topics include physical activity, physical fitness, activities of daily living, work, sport and athletics, recreation, dance, and play. Study participants include children, adults; elderly, individuals with disabilities, injury or disease; and athletes. Citations and abstracts are included with links to full text PDFs. Coverage: At least 1996 to present. Updated annually.
  • ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)  
      
      Icon  Icon
    Indexes over 30,000 business related dissertations.
  • Interlibrary Loan
    The Murphy Library Interlibrary Loan service is sometimes able to borrow dissertations from other libraries. There is no fee for this service.

Public Resources Available to All









University of Wisconsin-La Crosse
1725 State Street, La Crosse, WI 54601, USA | 608.785.8000
© Copyright
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip