Skip to main content

Voting Resources : How to Register and Vote

Register to Vote

Plan Ahead: Register Online

Complete your voter registration at My Vote Wisconsin up to 20 days before the election. 

  • Online:  Voters who have a valid Driver License or State ID card issued by the Wisconsin Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) can register to vote online.  If the DMV does not have your current address on file, update your address on the DMV website before completing (or updating) your voter registration.
  • Mail:  Voters who do not have a valid Wisconsin Driver License or ID or do not wish to update the address can complete their voter registration at My Vote Wisconsin but must print the form, sign it and mail it to the municipal clerk's office up to 20 days before the election (5:00 p.m. on the 3rd Wednesday before the election).  Proof of Residence must be included when submitting the registration application. WINGS can be used for this - see details in the box to the right.

Election Day: Register at your Polling Place 

Proof of Residence is required for voter registration. You can use WINGS for this. UW-La Crosse students can update their current address in their WINGS Student Center and also print an enrollment form which includes their current local address. The form is located in the lower right corner of the Student Center in the "Other Resources" area. Look for the WI Voter Verification link. If using a mobile device to view the form, please remember to remove the pop-up blocker in your web browser settings.

For more information on registering to vote:

Plan Ahead: Vote Absentee

Wisconsin State Statutes allow anyone who is unable or unwilling to go to the polls on Election Day to vote by absentee ballot. 

You will need to register to vote before an absentee ballot can be sent to you. See the box above about how to register to vote.

In the City of La Crosse the completed ballot must be received by the City Clerk no later than 5:00 p.m. on the day of the election

For more information:

Election Day: Bring your Photo ID

Not registered yet? You can register to vote at your polling place on election day. See the box above about how to register to vote.

Wisconsin requires a photo ID to vote.

For UWL students, the Eagle ID Card can be used as your photo ID for voting in Wisconsin.

 If you plan to use your Eagle ID to vote, it must contain:

  • Issued date
  • Voter Expiration date is no later than two years after the Issue Date (even if the Voter Expiration date has expired)
  • Your signature is on the back of your Eagle ID card
  • Eagle ID card must be accompanied by a separate document that proves enrollment

Election Day: Where To Vote

City of La Crosse

As of January 1, 2016, the City is divided into 13 Aldermanic Districts. Within the 13 districts are 35 wards. The ward in which you live determines your voting location.

Consult the City of La Crosse Current Aldermanic Districts Map (effective January 1st, 2016) to determine your ward. (smaller black numbers on the map)

Consult the City of La Crosse Polling Places list to determine the voting location for residents of your ward.  

UWL students living on campus reside in ward 8; ward 8 residents vote at the UWL Student Union.


La Crosse County

All La Crosse County polling places are listed here.


All Wisconsin Citizens: