Research Assistance
Librarians can help you learn to make the most of the information resources, tools, and services of Murphy Library and beyond!
Weekdays & Sunday afternoons (fall/spring):
Any time (year-round):
- Email us -- we'll email you back asap
- Schedule an appointment (in-person or online)
Local history and/or archives research? Special Collections / Area Research Center specialists are available!
- Email us at specoll@uwlax.edu
- Call us at 608.785.8511
Welcome
This library guide was put together to help you access and explore library resources in order to find credible sources to use in your assignment. Feel free to reach out to the library with any questions you have throughout your research process. This guide will be here for the remainder of the semester, so please refer back to it!
- Advanced Search Tips - from Brown University LibraryVisit this link to learn techniques for searching and advanced functions for operating the databases.
- What is a Scholarly Source? - from UWGB LibrariesVisit this link to help you understand what scholarly sources are, distinguish them from non-scholarly sources, and recognize the importance of peer-review.
Background Information
Crafting your research question is a process. Your question will change shape as you learn more about your topic. This part of the overall research process requires relying on background information:
Think about who the stakeholders would be concerning your topic. Are there advocacy groups or government organizations who hold sway? Try searching the internet for their online presence, and see what information they are responsible for putting out.
- CQ Researcher (CQ Press) This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles on the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into two sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
- Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center brings together pro and con viewpoint articles from the Greenhaven Press book series, reference articles that provide context, full-text magazines, academic journals, and newspapers, hundreds of primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, multimedia, including images and podcasts, links to hand-selected web sites, and more. In addition, it has thousands of links to reviewed and subject-indexed websites and podcasts, including weekly presidential addresses and premier NPR programs. Access to this resource is made possible by UWL Student Differential Tuition.
- U.S. Census Bureau"The United States Census Bureau, officially the Bureau of the Census, is a principal agency of the U.S. Federal Statistical System, responsible for producing data about the American people and economy."
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database containing full-text academic journals, magazines and periodicals plus reports, books and videos covering virtually every discipline. Includes thousands of English-language and native-language full-text journals from Asia, Oceania, Europe and Latin America. Limit by Source Type to Magazines, Newspapers, and Trade Publications.