Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
globalEDGE contains country insights, industry profiles, rankings, culture, trade statistics, history and much more. It provides an excellent overview of countries from the business perspective. It also includes links to other key websites for additional information and statistics.
BBC News World Edition: Country Reports
Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions.
They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives.
Export.gov Country Commercial Guides
(U.S. Commercial Service) Trade oriented – primarily a guide for U.S. businesses doing business in other countries.
The World Factbook
From the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency (CIA). Country profiles track such demographics as population, ethnicity and literacy rates, as well as political, geographical and economic data. Also includes full-color maps and flags. Archived issues since 2000 also available.
Extensive studies of about 100 individual countries. Political, economic, social and national security systems and institutions. Includes photographs, maps and charts. Most of these were published from 1988-1998. New Country Studies published beginning in 2008 are shelved at LC 1.60: GovDocs.
DataBank is an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them.
Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation (WEDC): Exporting
Export financing programs, world trade shows, international trade statistics, and more.
BusinessUSA: Explore Exporting
International Markets Research, International Business Matchmaking, Export Express Loan Program, Export Credit Insurance, Loan Guarantees for International Buyers, Export Credit Guarantee Programs, Export Assistance Centers, Trade Compliance Center
A web portal to exporting and trade services. The U.S. Department of Commerce’s International Trade Administration manages Export.gov as a collaborative effort with the 19 Federal Agencies that offer export assistance programs and services.
Foreign Trade Division, U.S. Census Bureau
Import or export statistics, information on export regulations, commodity classifications, and more trade related topics.
USITC DataWeb (U.S. International Trade Commission)
U.S. merchandise trade and tariff data (from the U.S. Census Bureau) since 1989.
Harmonized Tariff Schedule of the United States
From the U.S. International Trade Commission (USITC).
For Use in Classification of Imported Merchandise for Rate-of-Duty and Statistical Purposes
U.S. Gov.: International Business