The steps for using Zotero Standalone and Zotero Firefox are almost the same. Here is an example of Zotero Firefox.
Create a Zotero account for saving, collecting and sharing (Activation email may be in the clutter or spam box)
Create folders to organize sources
Click the logo located in the top of the browser tool bar to open the operating interface
Right click "my library" or click the folder icon to "create new collections." This will create new folders.
Save sources (Popular!): When you want to save a source, click the plug-in icon on the Internet browser tool bar. It will save directly into your selected Zotero collection. Zotero can tell the source type and screenshot the webpage or save the full text if access is available.
Export Citations and bibliographies
Set citation styles: Click Zotero -- click "settings" --click "Preferences" -- choose "Export" -- select proper "Default output format" (If you don't find the one you need, go to Zotero Citation Styles to select and add)
Export in-text citations: Right click the selected item(s) -- choose "create bibliography from the item…" -- choose "citation styles", output "Citations" and output method -- click "OK"
Export bibliographies: Right click the selected item(s)/ right click the selected collection -- choose "create bibliography from the item/collection…" -- choose "citation styles", output "bibliography " and output method -- click "OK"
Click Zotero -- click "settings" --click "Preferences" -- choose "Sync" -- input username and password and check sync choices
Shortcut: After signing in, click the sync button on the right side of the top tool bar
Sharing with group members
Create a group: You can create a group on the Zotero website to set group information and members/ Or click the group icon to arrive at the group page.
Add items in the group collection: Drag items from "My Library"/ Or use the same operations as the step "Save sources" /Or Add items through Zotero group website