Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Music Education Sites
National Association for Music Education
National Association for Music Education (NAfME), among the world’s largest arts education organizations, is the only association that addresses all aspects of music education.
Ohio Music Education Association
The Ohio Music Education Association is the third largest of the 52 federated state affiliates of NAfME, The National Association for Music Education. The Ohio Music Education Association is the only state affiliate of NAfME chartered as a music education association rather than a music educators association. The mission of OMEA is to foster a spirit of collaboration for the mutual benefit of all aspects of music education.
American Orff-Schulwerk Association
The American Orff-Schulwerk Association is a professional organization of educators dedicated to the creative music and movement approach developed by Carl Orff and Gunild Keetman.
Organization of American Kodaly Educators
Inspired by the vision of Zoltán Kodály, the mission of the Organization of American Kodály Educators is to support music education of the highest quality, promote universal music literacy and lifelong music making, and preserve the musical heritage of the people of the United States of America through education, artistic performance, advocacy and research.
Search by artist, song, or even words from the lyrics.
Music K-8 Idea Bank
The Idea Bank contains materials which we hope will be useful and valuable to you as a music teacher.
Contains audio and lyrics for many children's songs
NIEHS Kids Pages
Contains midis and lyrics to many children's songs
Wild Music: Sound Activities
Music-related activities and online games
Fear of Physics
Introduction to how sound is generated
Educational materials provided by the Dallas Symphony Orchestra
General Education Resources
CALDER: Longitudinal Data in Education Research
Part of the Urban Institute, the Center collects and publishes research.
From the Discovery Channel, resources (including lesson plans) for teaching science, social studies, language arts, and humanities to grades K-12. The programming themes cross curricular subjects and cover literature, sciences, and social studies.
Gateway to 21st Century Skills
A "Consortium effort to provide educators with quick and easy access to thousands of educational resources found on various federal, state, university, non-profit and commercial Internet sites." Sponsored by the U.S. Dept. of Education and providing powerful search engine.
Intute: Education and Research Methods
Annotated collection of links to web sources selected by subject specialists in the UK.
National Center on Response to Intervention (RTI)
See especially the Resources section, containing many full text reports.
National Institute for Early Education Research
Research, news and other information on the importance of early education.
PBS Teachers - Resources for the Classroom
Curriculum materials for preK through 12th grade tied to PBS programming.
Science Tracer Bullet
Science Reference Services of the Library of Congress provides research guides that are particularly useful for science fairs, etc.
SMETE Digital Library
Search or browse a collection of "high-quality teaching and learning resources in applied science and math, engineering, computer science/information technology, and engineering technology for use by K-12 and university educators and students."
Teachers (Library of Congress)
Curriculum materials and professional development resources.
Teachers.net - Reference Desk
Offers a good set of basic reference resources for general, and specifically education, reference needs. For the "Lesson Exchange," go to the homepage of Teachers.net.
The Educator's Reference Desk
Directory of links, lesson plans, and an FAQ archive, maintained by the Information Institute of Syracuse.
The Urban Institute - Education
Information and links to research on education policy. Consider an RSS feed for new publications.
Theory Into Practice (TIP)
Brief summaries of 50 major theories of learning and instruction.
Resources and links to current research in education. Maintained by Harvard's Graduate School of Education.
Websites for Educators
From the Harvard Graduate School of Education. Lengthy collection of links related to many areas in education.
What Works Clearinghouse
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, designed to help educators identify and make use of effective teaching practices. Based on the Department's What Works Clearinghouse, which evaluates research on practices and interventions.