Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LC Classification: Z

A breakdown of the Library of Congress Classification system

Z - Overview

Z - Books (General). Writing. Paleography. Book industries and trade. Libraries. Bibliography 

ZA - Information resources (General) 

For Further Details

For more detailed information, visit the Library of Congress Classification Outline.

Z - Bibliography, Library Science, Information Resources (General)

Z - Books (General). Writing. Paleography. Book industries and trade. Libraries. Bibliography 

  • Z4-8 History of books and bookmaking
  • Z40-104.5 Writing
  • Z116-659 Book industries and trade
  • Z662-1000.5 Libraries
    • Z687-718.85 The collections. The books
    • Z729-875 Library reports. History. Statistics
    • Z881-977 Library catalogs and bulletins
    • Z987-996.3 Book collecting
  • Z1001-1121 General bibliography
  • Z1201-4980 National bibliography
  • Z5051-7999 Subject bibliography (Subjects arranged in alphabetical sequence)
  • Z8001-8999 Personal bibliography (Names of individuals arranged in alphabetical sequence)

ZA - Information resources (General) 

  • ZA3150-3159 Information services. Information centers
  • ZA3201-3250 Information superhighway
  • ZA4050-4775 Information in specific formats or media
  • ZA5049-5190 Government information