Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LC Classification: A

A breakdown of the Library of Congress Classification system

A - Overview

AC - Collections. Series. Collected works

AE - Encyclopedias

AG - Dictionaries and other general reference works

AI - Indexes

AM - Museums. Collectors and collecting

AN - Newspapers

AP - Periodicals

AS - Academies and learned societies

AY - Yearbooks. Almanacs. Directories

AZ - History of scholarship and learning. The humanities

For Further Details

For more detailed information, visit the Library of Congress Classification Outline.

A - General Works

AC - Collections. Series. Collected works

  • AC1-999 Collections. Series. Collected works
    • AC1-195 Collections of monographs, essays, etc.
      • AC1-8 American and English
      • AC9-195 Other languages
    • AC200 Collections for Jewish readers
    • AC801-895 Inaugural and program dissertations
    • AC901-995 Pamphlet collections
    • AC999 Scrapbooks

AE - Encyclopedias

  • AE1-90 Encyclopedias
    • AE5-90 By language

AG - Dictionaries and other general reference works

  • AG2-600 Dictionaries and other general reference works

AI - Indexes

  • AI1-21 Indexes

AM - Museums. Collectors and collecting

  • AM1-501 Museums. Collectors and collecting
    • AM10-100 By country
    • AM111-160 Museology. Museum methods, technique, etc.
    • AM200-501 Collectors and collecting

AN - Newspapers

AP - Periodicals

  • AP1-271 Periodicals
    • AP101-115 Humorous periodicals
    • AP200-230 Juvenile periodicals
    • AP250-265 Periodicals for women
    • AP270-271 Periodicals for Blacks

AS - Academies and learned societies

  • AS1-945 Academies and learned societies
    • AS2.5-4 International associations, congresses, conferences, etc.
    • AS11-785 By region or country

AY - Yearbooks. Almanacs. Directories

  • AY10-2001 Yearbooks. Almanacs. Directories
    • AY10-29 Annuals
    • AY30-1730 Almanacs
    • AY2001 Directories. General works on the compilation of directories, etc.
      • Class directories by subject in B-Z

AZ - History of scholarship and learning. The humanities

  • AZ20-999 History of scholarship and learning. The humanities
    • AZ101-181 Philosophy. Theory
    • AZ191-193 Evaluation
    • AZ200-361 History
    • AZ501-908 By region or country