Starting Points
Handbooks
The CRC Handbook is the main one, but Murphy Library holds several others as well (Lange's, Dean's, etc.). See the Chemistry/Biochemistry subject guide for more.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics by Call Number: QD65 .H3 Ready Referencecurrent ed. in Ready Reference;
earlier edition at Oversize Collection (2nd floor) QD65 .H3
Dictionaries
Can be helpful in formulating effecting database search strategies by revealing terminology used by specialists.
Dictionary of chemistry by Call Number: QD5 .H85 1999 ReferenceISBN: 1579581404Publication Date: 1999
Facts On File dictionary of biochemistry by Call Number: QP512 .F33 2003 ReferenceISBN: 0816049149Publication Date: 2003
Facts on File dictionary of chemistry by Call Number: QD5 .F33 2005 RefISBN: 0816056498Publication Date: 2005
Gardner's Chemical Synonyms and Trade Names by Call Number: TP9 .G286 1999 ReferenceISBN: 0566081903Publication Date: 199911th ed.
Hawley's condensed chemical dictionary by Call Number: QD5 .C5 2007 ReferenceISBN: 0471768650Fifteenth edition
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary by Call Number: QD5 ONLINEISBN: 9781119312468Publication Date: 2016Sixteenth edition.
McGraw-Hill dictionary of chemistry [electronic resource]. by Call Number: QD5 .M36 2003eb ONLINEISBN: 0071417974Publication Date: 2003
The Merck Index by Call Number: RS51 .M4 2013 ReferenceISBN: 978184973670115th ed.
"An encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals"
Oxford dictionary of biochemistry and molecular biology by Call Number: QP512 .O94 2006 ReferenceISBN: 0198529171Publication Date: 2006
Encyclopedias
A good, specialized, scholarly encyclopedia contains many relatively brief entries that can serve as a perfect introduction to a topic. Each article is written by a recognized, credentialed expert. Also, entries generally conclude with a current bibliography also compiled by that subject expert, recommending some of the most important publications ever produced on that particular topic. This can be a highly-effective and time-saving way to launch your own literature review.
Van Nostrand's scientific encyclopedia by
Call Number: Q121 ONLINEPublication Date: 200810th ed.
v. 1-3Chemistry: foundations and applications by
Call Number: QD4 .C48 2004 ReferenceISBN: 0028657217Publication Date: 2004v.1-4
Macmillan encyclopedia of chemistry by Call Number: QD4 .M33 1997 ReferenceISBN: 0028972252Publication Date: 1997v.1-4
Van Nostrand's encyclopedia of chemistryCall Number: QD4 .V36 2005 ReferenceISBN: 0471615250Publication Date: 20055th ed.
Encyclopedia of analytical chemistry by Call Number: QD71.5 .E52 2000 ReferenceISBN: 0471976709Publication Date: 2000v.1-15
Encyclopedia of Analytical Science by Call Number: QD71.5 ONLINEISBN: 9780081019849Third edition.
v.1-10
Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry by Call Number: QD415 ONLINEISBN: 9780128220405Publication Date: 2021Third Edition
v.1-6
Concise encyclopedia biochemistry and molecular biology by Call Number: QD415.A25 B713 1997 ReferenceISBN: 3110145359Publication Date: 1997
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences by Call Number: QH302.5 ONLINEISBN: 9780470015902Publication Date: 1999-CurrentKirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology
Call Number: TP9 ONLINEISBN: 9780471238966Publication Date: 2000-20124th-5th ed.(2000-2012)
v.1-27
Concise Polymeric Materials Encyclopedia by Call Number: TP1110 .C66 1999 ReferenceISBN: 084932226XPublication Date: 1998
Encyclopedia of Food Chemistry by Call Number: TX541 ONLINEISBN: 9780128140451Publication Date: 2019v.1-3
Books
On the shelves at the library:
- Chemistry: QD
- Biochemistry: QP512, QP514.2, and also scattered elsewhere under QP (physiology)
Find books:
- Murphy Library CatalogThe catalog of the collections of UWL's Murphy Library, with around 1 million items listed. Many items are accessed online, while others are available in the library building (and can usually be borrowed from the library). All items were selected with UWL students/faculty/staff in mind!
- Murphy Library Catalog with UW System Resource Sharing ListingsOver 9 million unique items and over 17 million volumes listed. UWL students/faculty/staff can request to borrow items to pick up at Murphy Library within 2-4 days. This service is called "UW System Resource Sharing".
Current Topics in Chemistry
- Chemical & Engineering News - current news articles(American Chemical Society)
Available from 2016 volume: 94 issue: 1
Journal Subscriptions
- Chemistry JournalsBrowse current chemistry journals available through Murphy Library.
- Biochemistry JournalsBrowse current biochemistry journals available through Murphy Library.
SciFinderⁿ: Chemical Information & Literature Review
- SciFinderⁿ (CAS) This link opens in a new windowNote: SciFinderⁿ has replaced the old SciFinder platform. To access this database, you must first create a user account using your UWL e-mail.
Collection of databases: CAS REGISTRY (>200 million chemical substances and sequences), CAplus (Chemical Abstracts index to chemistry literature since 1907 with some earlier coverage), CASREACT (>100 million reactions and preparations), CHEMCATS (chemical suppliers), CHEMLIST (regulations on >350,000 chemicals), MARPAT (>1.1 million Markush structures from patents), MEDLINE (from NLM; index to biomedical literature since 1966).
SciFinder Exercises
1. Look up the article titled “Recent advances on therapeutic potentials of gold and silver nanobiomaterials for human viral diseases”.
- What year was this article published?
- Can you link to the full text PDF version of this article?
2. Look up the article, written in 1999 by Lazaro and others, on: labeling experiments with photocyanation of aromatic compounds. Click on the title of the article to see the full reference information about it.
- What do the Link, Save, Print, and Export functions do?
- How many times has this article been cited by others since it was published in 1999?
- When was it cited most recently? Are the articles listed by Get Citing on topics similar to the 1999 Lazaro article? What is the difference between Get Citing and Get Cited?
3. How many articles by researchers associated with the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse can you find that have something to do with antibiotics?
4. Save several of the articles you found into a "saved answer set". Now view your Saved Answer Set (link at far upper-right). What can you do with Saved Answer Sets?
REAXYS: Chemical Information & Literature Review
- Reaxys (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowCollection of databases: Reaxys (Beilstein and Gmelin handbooks of >75 million chemical substances, plus literature index including patents), Reaxys Medicinal Chemistry (>40 million chemical substances and bioactivity datapoints, plus literature index), PubChem (from NLM; >91 million chemical substances), eMolecules (chemical suppliers), LabNetwork (chemical suppliers), Sigma-Aldrich (chemical supplier).
- Reaxys Learn & Support CenterQuick-start guides, video tutorials and webinars
ChemDraw - Chemical structure drawing and analysis software
Thanks to the UWL Chemistry department, as a UWL student/faculty/staff member you can install ChemDraw on your computer (PC or Mac), starting from the following link.
- ChemDraw Prime software download siteUse this link to download the latest version of the ChemDraw Prime software (Windows or Macintosh versions) using the UWL Chemistry Department License.
Search for "La Crosse" to quickly get to the UWL access/download section.
Once installed, access your order history on the download site to retrieve your activation code to register the software.
More Information about ChemDraw
Librarian
Guides to the literature
How to find chemical information: a guide for practicing chemists, educators, and students by Call Number: QD8.5 .M34 1998 ReferenceISBN: 0471125792Publication Date: 1998
The Literature of Chemistry by Call Number: Z675.C47 D68 2004 ReferenceISBN: 0838983081Publication Date: 2004
Style Guides
ACS Style Guide: Effective Communication of Scientific Information by Call Number: QD8.5 .A25 2006 Ready ReferenceISBN: 08412399913rd ed.
