Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Reference Shelf
A series of books that provide in-depth exploration of current topics.
A series of books that explore current issues.
Selected Web Resources
New York Times list of topic pages.
Provides case studies, evaluations, white papers, and issue briefs addressing social issues.
Public Agenda - Discussion Starters
Provides background information on current issues with the pros, cons and trade-offs of each choice
Provides multiple points of view for controversial issues.
Points of View Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This is a full-text database that includes essays covering multiple sides of a current issue. 343 topics are included, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument),counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide. In addition to essays, articles from political magazines different points of view, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books are included.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center brings together pro and con viewpoint articles from the Greenhaven Press book series, reference articles that provide context, full-text magazines, academic journals, and newspapers, hundreds of primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, multimedia, including images and podcasts, links to hand-selected web sites, and more. In addition, it has thousands of links to reviewed and subject-indexed websites and podcasts, including weekly presidential addresses and premier NPR programs. Access to this resource is made possible by UWL Student Differential Tuition.
CQ Researcher (CQ Press) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles on the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into two sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
Newer books on current issues
Help is Available - Ask a Librarian