Search Tools
Searching about a health concern is only part of the picture. You are also interested in searching for populations, theories, interventions, and all other related topics that you are likely to discover during your initial searches. Searching is best when it is done in earnest--less like an assignment and more like a quest. You are preparing to do more than summarize what you find; you are preparing to understand your topic more fully by making sense of the many pieces you gather from many authors.
LibKey Nomad
Take Murphy Library with you as you search the internet! The LibKey Nomad browser extension seamlessly links you to full text resources that are available through Murphy Library, whenever and wherever you are online. Download the extension via the link below, or find more information on our LibGuide!
Essential Article Database
- MEDLINE with Full Text (U.S. National Library of Medicine & EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowEssentially equivalent to PubMed from the National Library of Medicine, but with full text for select journals. Authoritative information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Over 4,800 current biomedical journals are indexed; full text for 1,470 journals. Uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). Incorporates PREMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, AIDSLINE & more.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowCovers over 4,600 nursing and allied health journals, with full-text articles from more than 350 active, non-open access journals. Coverage includes nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and other allied health disciplines. Also covers health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals and book chapters. Contains continuing education modules, research instruments records, evidence-based care sheets, and quick lessons as well.
- ERIC (Institute of Education Sciences) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowFrom the Education Resources Information Center (ERIC), sponsored by the U.S. Dept. of Education. Full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.
- Health Professions Databases via EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowThis cluster of EBSCOhost databases allows you to search 14 health professions databases at one time including MEDLINE, CINAHL, Health Source databases, PsycINFO, and more. Note: Be aware that when searching multiple databases at one time, unique features of individual databases will likely lose their functionality. Please visit the Health Professions page for links to other essential health/medicine resources.
- Alt HealthWatch (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowIncludes about 50 active journals and magazines focused on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness, including the evolving practice of holistic medicine and therapies.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowIncludes 140 active journals, 120 peer-reviewed active journals, and 930 indexed and abstracted journals covering nursing and allied health topics including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
- APA PsycInfo (American Psychological Association) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowCovers 2,400 journals as well as book chapters and dissertations in psychology and from related behavioral and social sciences including: artificial intelligence, business, education, law, linguistics, medicine, neuroscience, pharmacology, political science, social work, sociology, sports
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowProvides citations and abstracts to periodical articles, books, conference proceedings, and research papers. Includes full text for 530 journals. Topics covered include sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, psychology, training, coaching, and physical education.
Note: This resource is limited to 4 simultaneous users. If access is unavailable, please try again later. - Science Citation Index Expanded (Clarivate) @ Web of Science This link opens in a new windowFully covers over 9,500 scholarly journals across 128 scientific disciplines. Specializes in cited reference searching for comprehensive identification of later works that have cited an article published in one of the covered journals. Part of the Web of Science Core Collection database. Coverage: 1900-present.
Search Tips
- Remember that searching is an art; play with different search terms/concepts for vastly different results.
- Think of synonyms and then connect them with “OR” (see Sample Searches)
- If you’ve searched once, alter your search terms and search again.
- Contact a librarian!
Journals
Google Scholar
Searches the full text of select scholarly journal articles.
Access to the full text is controlled by the publisher. Access may open, access may be provided by your library, or access may be purchased.
! Tip: For best results, use Google Scholar with Murphy Library's LibX Toolbar!