Ancient Greece Background
Reference Books
Handbook to Life in Ancient Greece by Call Number: STAX DF77 .A35 1998ISBN: 019512491XPublication Date: 1998-12-17
Encyclopedia of Ancient Literature by Call Number: REF PN621 .C66 2008ISBN: 9780816064755Publication Date: 2008-04-01
Food in the Ancient World from A to Z by Call Number: REF GT2853.G8 D35 2003ISBN: 0415232597Publication Date: 2003-06-18
Encyclopedia of the Ancient Greek World by Call Number: REF DF16 .S23 2005ISBN: 0816057222Publication Date: 2005-07-01
Greek Mythology
- Theoi Project: Greek MythologyTheoi Project is a site exploring Greek mythology and the gods in classical literature and art, providing a comprehensive, free reference guide to the gods (theoi), spirits (daimones), fabulous creatures (theres) and heroes of ancient Greek mythology and religion.
- Encyclopedia MythicaThe body of traditional tales concerning the gods, heroes, and rituals of the ancient Greeks. Also gives links to Greek deities and their Roman counterparts and a separate area for Greek people, containing all about Greek mortals.
Overview of Ancient Greece
- BBC: History of Ancient GreeceAn article by Paul Cartledge, former British ancient historian and academic at Cambridge, describing demokratia, or democracy in Ancient Greece and how it compares to a 21st century democracy.
- Perseus Project (Tufts U): EncyclopediaAn online encyclopedia of terms used for the study of Ancient Greece.
- Perseus Project (Tufts U): Overview of Classical Greek HistoryProvides a brief summary of the history of ancient Greece from approximately 1200 B.C., the period when Mycenaean civilization perished, to 323 B.C., the death of Alexander the Great. Article written by Thomas R. Martin from Tufts University.
- Films On Demand (Infobase) This link opens in a new windowFilms On Demand is an online video platform that provides access to a dynamic collection of over 35,000 titles. Special features allow users to organize and bookmark clips, share playlists, and create personalized folders.
Greek Drama
- National Endowment for the Humanities:An educational site for teachers and students on Greek drama, includes lesson plans and student resources.
- Drama: The Greek Theatre and Three Athenian Tragedians: Aeschylus, Sophocles, and EuripidesLeigh T. Denault, historian and researcher at the U of Cambridge, created this portal into Greek drama.
- Films On Demand (Infobase) This link opens in a new windowFilms On Demand is an online video platform that provides access to a dynamic collection of over 35,000 titles. Special features allow users to organize and bookmark clips, share playlists, and create personalized folders.
Architecture in Ancient Greece
- Architecture in Ancient GreeceThe Metropolitan Museum of Art's timeline of art history. This is a good source for images.
- Films On Demand (Infobase) This link opens in a new windowFilms On Demand is an online video platform that provides access to a dynamic collection of over 35,000 titles. Special features allow users to organize and bookmark clips, share playlists, and create personalized folders.
War in Ancient Greece
- The Five Great Battles of Antiquity:2.5 hour Symposium presentation and discussion of the ancient battles of Marathon, Salamis, Chaeronea, Gaugamela, and Cannae with a narrative history from 550 - 168 BC. The main topics are the Greco-Persian Wars, the Campaigns of Alexander, and the Second Punic War. The rise of Achaemenid Persia, the Peloponnesian War, Xenophon and the March of the Ten Thousand, and Spartan and Theban Hegemonies are included.
Olympic Games in Ancient Greece
- Perseus Project (Tufts U): The Ancient OlympicsAn exhibit comparing ancient and modern Olympic sports, a tour of the site of Olympia as it looks today, the context of the Games and the Olympic spirit, and Olympic athletes who were famous in ancient times.
- The Olympic Games in AntiquityThis comprehensive reports includes an interesting bibliography.
- The Real Story of Ancient Olympic GamesThe Penn Museum (Philadelphia) created this site on the politics, nationalism, commercialism and athletics that were intimately related in the ancient Olympic Games.
- Ancient Olympics GamesHistorical account of the ancient games written by Olympic.org, the official website of the Olympic Movement.
Research Assistance
Librarians can help you learn to make the most of the information resources, tools, and services of Murphy Library and beyond!
Weekdays & Sunday afternoons (fall/spring):
Any time (year-round):
- Email us -- we'll email you back asap
- Schedule an appointment (in-person or online)
Local history and/or archives research? Special Collections / Area Research Center specialists are available!
- Email us at specoll@uwlax.edu
- Call us at 608.785.8511
Engagement & Curriculum Collection Librarian
Biography/Context/Criticism
Videos
- Films On Demand (Infobase) This link opens in a new windowFilms On Demand is an online video platform that provides access to a dynamic collection of over 35,000 titles. Special features allow users to organize and bookmark clips, share playlists, and create personalized folders.
Article Databases
- Gale Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new windowAll volumes of: Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC), Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC), Children's Literature Review (CLR). Also included through 2008: Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism (NCLC), Shakespearean Criticism (SC), Literature Criticism from 1400-1800 (LC), Classical & Medieval Literature Criticism (CMLC), Poetry Criticism (PC), Short Story Criticism (SSC), Drama Criticism (DC)
- Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowContains more than 36,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, more than 80,000 articles/essays of literary criticism, more than 250,000 author biographies, more than 450 literary journals, more than 900,000 book reviews, nearly 100,000 classic and contemporary poems, more than 27,000 classic and contemporary short stories, nearly 10,000 author interviews, and more than 7,400 classic novels, plus reference texts including Beacham’s Research Guide to Biography and Criticism (six volumes), The Oxford Illustrated History of English Literature, all of MagillOnLiterature Plus, and Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature & Criticism. Access alternative interface
- Project Muse Journals This link opens in a new windowIncludes the full text of over 300 scholarly journals in the fields of: literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
An archive of more than 4,600 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences from nearly 1,200 publishers. Thanks to both the Murphy Library Endowment Fund and UWL Student Differential Tuition for providing access to the JSTOR Arts & Sciences XV collection. - Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts over 2,300 history journals. Covers world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
Note: This resource is limited to 6 simultaneous users. If access is unavailable, please try again later. - Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database containing full-text academic journals, magazines and periodicals plus reports, books and videos covering virtually every discipline. Includes thousands of English-language and native-language full-text journals from Asia, Oceania, Europe and Latin America. - MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowCitations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers. Subjects: literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, historical aspects of printing and publishing, rhetoric, composition, and the teaching of language and literature.
- Humanities International Complete (Whitston Publishing) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowThis resource includes full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Citations and abstracts are included from over 2,300 journals with full text for more than 1,200. Major subject areas include literature, philosophy, the arts, history, and culture, with a special emphasis on literature and the literary arts.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowAn index of articles from more than 550 magazine titles covering the years 1890-1982 in areas such as: arts, business, computers, crafts, dance, drama, education, entertainment, fashion, film & television, food, gardening, health and medicine, home improvement, literature, news and current events, photography, popular and classical music, politics, popular culture, religion, sports and fitness, technology, transportation, and travel.
Featured Books
Women’s life in Greece & Rome : a source book in translation by Call Number: 2nd Floor Stacks HQ1127 .W653 1993ISBN: 0801844754
A Cultural History of Women by Call Number: 2nd Floor Stacks HQ1121 .C83 2013ISBN: 9781847884756Publication Date: 2013-04-25
Find out what life was life in ancient Greece and Rome. Search for books in the Library Catalog. Suggested subject browse searches include:
Greece--Social life and customs
Rome--Social life and customs
Women--Greece--Social conditions
Women--Greece--History
Women--Rome--Intellectual life
Women--Rome--Literary collections
Women--Rome--Social conditions
Reference Books
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance by Call Number: Reference PN2035 .O94 2003ISBN: 0198601743Publication Date: 20032 volumes
Critical Survey of Drama by Call Number: Reference PN1625 .C74 2003ISBN: 1587651025Publication Date: 2003v.1-v.8McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of world drama
Call Number: Reference PN1625 .M3ISBN: 0070795673Publication Date: 19734 volumes
Production History
Finding Play Reviews/Print Indexes
New York theatre critics’ reviews
Call Number: PN1601 .N4 ReferenceComplete reviews from these New York publications and stations whenever covered by the critic: New York daily news, Wall Street journal, Time, New York post, Women’s wear daily, WABC-TV, CBS-TV, New York times, Chrstian Science monitor, Newsweek from 1967-1996
The New York Times Directory of the Theater by Call Number: PN2275.N5 N48 1973 ReferenceISBN: 0812903641Contains the appendix and index to The New York times theater reviews, 1920-1970.Theatre World
Call Number: PN2277.N5 A17 ReferencePublication Date: 1981Library has: 1951/52 - 2012/13
Theatre World was an annual chronology of Broadway and Off Broadway productions. Each volume includes biographical information, awards lists, and obituaries. The index provides quick access to the contents of each volume.
Historical/Archival National/International News
For the 1980s to the present please check the Regional / National / International News tab for many additional sources.
Archival Major Newspapers
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times with Index This link opens in a new windowOnline, full-image, and searchable content of The New York Times from September 18, 1851 to four years ago (4-year embargo). Includes articles, advertisements, and political cartoons. Search options include keyword, article type, by date, author, or browse by issue.
- New Pittsburgh CourierCall Number: Newspapers Microfilm (2nd Floor, North)(Shelved with Pittsburgh Courier)
Holdings: 1966-1992
- The Times (London) Digital Archive (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. Coverage: 1785-2012. - The Sunday Times (London) Historical Archive (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Sunday Times has provided thoughtful analysis and commentary on the week’s news and society at large since 1822. Despite the similarity of names, The Sunday Times was an entirely separate paper from The Times until 1966, when both papers came under common ownership. To this day, The Sunday Times remains editorially independent from The Times, with its own remit and perspective on the news. Coverage: 1822-2016. - The Times Literary Supplement (London) Historical Archive (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Since 1902, the Times Literary Supplement has forged a reputation for fine writing, literary discoveries and insightful debate. The TLS has attracted the contributions of the world’s most influential writers and critics, from T.S. Eliot and Virginia Woolf in the 1920s and 30s to A.N. Wilson and Christopher Hitchens in the 1990s and 2000s. Coverage: 1902-2019.
- The Times Educational Supplement (London)Call Number: Newspaper Microfilm (2nd Floor, North)Holdings: 1910-2003
- The Virginia Gazette (Accessible Archives) This link opens in a new windowPublished weekly in Williamsburg, Virginia between 1736 and 1780, The Virginia Gazette contained news covering all of Virginia and also included information from other colonies, Scotland, England and additional countries.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowOnline, full-image, and searchable content of The Wall Street Journal from July 8, 1889 to 18 years ago (18-year embargo). In 1889, Dow Jones & Company first published The Wall Street Journal as a markets-focused newspaper for shareholders. Today, it focuses not only on the stock market, but on all aspects of global business, economics, and consumer affairs
Archival Newspaper Collections
- Accessible Archives This link opens in a new windowPrimary source collections including: African American Newspapers, African American Newspapers in the South, The Civil War - Part I: A Newspaper Perspective, Frank Leslie’s Weekly (1855-1922), The Virginia Gazette (1736-1780), The Woman’s Tribune (1883-1909), Women’s Suffrage Collection
- African American Newspapers (Accessible Archives) This link opens in a new windowThis collection of African American newspapers contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and is rich with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day.
- African American Newspapers, Series 1 (Readex) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This collection features papers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles. Coverage: 1827-1998.
- America's Historical Newspapers (Readex) This link opens in a new windowSearch more than 1,400 U.S. historical newspapers from all 50 states published between 1690 and 1922. Collections include African American Newspapers and Early American Newspapers, Series 1 - 7.
- British Library Newspapers (Gale) This link opens in a new windowTaken directly from the extensive holdings of the British Library, this collection includes London national newspapers, English regional papers, home country newspapers from Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales, and titles in specialist areas such as Victorian radicalism and Chartism. Coverage: 1800-1900.
- Chronicling America (National Digital Newspaper Program) @ Library of Congress This link opens in a new windowAccess to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP), a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC). Coverage: 1789-1963. Additional years will be added as the project continues.
- The Civil War Collection (Accessible Archives) This link opens in a new windowThis collection of newspapers, personal narratives, and regimental histories is divided into seven parts: A Newspaper Perspective; The Soldiers’ Perspective; The Generals’ Perspective; A Midwestern Perspective; Iowa’s Perspective; Northeast Regimental Histories; and Abraham Lincoln Library Abolitionist Books.
- Frank Leslie's Weekly (Accessible Archives) This link opens in a new windowFounded in 1855 and continued until 1922, this was an American illustrated literary and news publication, and one of several started by publisher and illustrator Frank Leslie.
- Google Historic Newspapers by nameGoogle News Archive Search provides an easy way to search and explore historical archives. Users can search for events, people or ideas and see how they have been described over time.
- Newspapers.com World Collection (Ancestry & ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowThis newspaper archive contains searchable, full-page images of over 4000 state, regional, and local newspapers in the United States and other countries from the early 1700s to the 2000s.
NOTE: Newspapers available in this database are not listed in the Murphy Library catalog. - Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale) This link opens in a new windowOver 28 million articles of primary source newspaper content from the 19th-century, featuring full-text content and images from newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and the Antebellum-era. Newspapers from all 19th-century U.S. states and territories are included.
- Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to the British Library's collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, and books (primarily published in London, with some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and examples from the American colonies) gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817).
- Women's Suffrage Collection (Accessible Archives) This link opens in a new windowThis collection covers much of the women's rights movement from the mid-1800s to the early 1900s. It includes newspapers that had some overlap between the temperance and women’s rights movements, as well as an anti-suffrage paper.
Article Databases
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times with Index This link opens in a new windowOnline, full-image, and searchable content of The New York Times from September 18, 1851 to four years ago (4-year embargo). Includes articles, advertisements, and political cartoons. Search options include keyword, article type, by date, author, or browse by issue.
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis)Please note: Access to this resource ended on June 30, 2021. UW System began a new subscription to Westlaw this summer.
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources. Content includes local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives; television and radio broadcasts; newswires and blogs; federal and state cases and statutes; and business information on U.S. and international companies and executives. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An archive of more than 4,600 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences from nearly 1,200 publishers. Thanks to both the Murphy Library Endowment Fund and UWL Student Differential Tuition for providing access to the JSTOR Arts & Sciences XV collection. - Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowAn index of articles from more than 550 magazine titles covering the years 1890-1982 in areas such as: arts, business, computers, crafts, dance, drama, education, entertainment, fashion, film & television, food, gardening, health and medicine, home improvement, literature, news and current events, photography, popular and classical music, politics, popular culture, religion, sports and fitness, technology, transportation, and travel.
- The Sunday Times (London) Historical Archive (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Sunday Times has provided thoughtful analysis and commentary on the week’s news and society at large since 1822. Despite the similarity of names, The Sunday Times was an entirely separate paper from The Times until 1966, when both papers came under common ownership. To this day, The Sunday Times remains editorially independent from The Times, with its own remit and perspective on the news. Coverage: 1822-2016. - The Times (London) Digital Archive (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. Coverage: 1785-2012. - The Times Literary Supplement (London) Historical Archive (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Since 1902, the Times Literary Supplement has forged a reputation for fine writing, literary discoveries and insightful debate. The TLS has attracted the contributions of the world’s most influential writers and critics, from T.S. Eliot and Virginia Woolf in the 1920s and 30s to A.N. Wilson and Christopher Hitchens in the 1990s and 2000s. Coverage: 1902-2019. - Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database containing full-text academic journals, magazines and periodicals plus reports, books and videos covering virtually every discipline. Includes thousands of English-language and native-language full-text journals from Asia, Oceania, Europe and Latin America. - Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowContains more than 36,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, more than 80,000 articles/essays of literary criticism, more than 250,000 author biographies, more than 450 literary journals, more than 900,000 book reviews, nearly 100,000 classic and contemporary poems, more than 27,000 classic and contemporary short stories, nearly 10,000 author interviews, and more than 7,400 classic novels, plus reference texts including Beacham’s Research Guide to Biography and Criticism (six volumes), The Oxford Illustrated History of English Literature, all of MagillOnLiterature Plus, and Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature & Criticism. Access alternative interface
Web Resources
- The Internet Broadway DatabaseThis official database for Broadway theater information provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theater to the present. Includes details on pertinent people involved in the theater as well as interesting facts and statistics about individual productions.
- Internet Off-Broadway DatabaseAlso known as the Lortel Archives, includes information about off-Broadway productions going back to 1958.
Librarian
Finding Images
Image Databases
- Artstor This link opens in a new windowArtstor is a digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences, along with a set of tools to view, present, and manage the images for research and teaching purposes. Entire collections of images have been contributed by museums, libraries' special collections, scholars, individual photographers and photo archives.
Please note: Users must register an account with Artstor in order to download images.
Reference Books
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion by Call Number: Reference GT507 .E53 2005ISBN: 0684313944Publication Date: 2004v.1-v.3
The Dictionary of Costume by Call Number: GT507 .W5 (2nd floor stacks)
A Pictorial History of Costume; a Survey of Costume of All Periods and Peoples from Antiquity to Modern Times Including National Costume in Europe and Non-European Countries by Call Number: GT513 .B763 (2nd floor stacks)Index to Art Reproductions in Books by
Call Number: Reference N7525 .H48 1974ISBN: 0810807114Publication Date: 1974
Web Resrouces
- Perseus Projecta digital library supporting the study of the ancient world. It includes historical overviews, an encyclopedia, primary texts in Greek and English, and thousands of images and descriptions of vases, coins, sculpture, buildings and sites.
Citing Sources: MLA
Citing Reviews
Examples of MLA Review Citations
To cite a review, include the title of the review (if available), then the abbreviation "Rev. of" for Review of and provide the title of the work (in italics for books, plays, and films; in quotation marks for articles, poems, and short stories). Finally, provide performance and/or publication information.
Taken from the OWL Purdue citation guide. Click here for more info.
Review Author. "Title of Review (if there is one)." Rev. of Performance Title, by Author/Director/Artist. Title of Periodical day month year: page. Medium of publication.
Seitz, Matt Zoller. "Life in the Sprawling Suburbs, If You Can Really Call It Living." Rev. of Radiant City, dir. Gary Burns and Jim Brown. New York Times 30 May 2007 late ed.: E1. Print.
Weiller, K. H. Rev. of Sport, Rhetoric, and Gender: Historical Perspectives and Media Representations, ed. Linda K. Fuller. Choice Apr. 2007: 1377. Print.
*note: if your citation take up more than one line, all lines following the first one must be indented.
These citations are from automatic generators. Notice that there are errors. Automatic doesn't always mean perfect.
1. By, HOWARD T. "Stage: A Lucid 'Oedipus'." New York Times (1923-Current file): 24. Feb 14 1972. ProQuest. Web. 27 Sep. 2015 .
2. Renner, Pamela. "Oedipus At Sing Sing." American Theatre 24.1 (2007): 34-130. Literary Reference Center. Web. 27 Sept. 2015.