Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Websites (free, public sites)
The following web resources were selected by librarians:
"Gay is Good" Digital collections in LGBTQ U.S. history
The resources listed highlight primary source materials including a sampling of reference and secondary sources that are freely available online.
American Institute of Bisexuality
The site shares information, answers questions, and provides resources for further learning regarding bisexuality.
America’s oldest advocacy organization for bisexual, pansexual, fluid, queer-identified and unlabeled people
Celebration of Women Writers
Contains electronic versions of classic texts by women, including some works by feminist authors
Documents from the Women's Liberation Movement
Document various aspects of the Women's Liberation Movement in the United States, and focus specifically on the radical origins of this movement during the late 1960s and early 1970s. Items range from radical theoretical writings to humourous plays to the minutes of an actual grassroots group. Subjects covered include: medical and reproductive rights; music; organizations and activism; sexuality and lesbian feminism, socialist feminism, women of color, women's work and Roles.
Seeks to make it possible to search all the world’s online historic newspapers from one place. It is in development. Use it to search historic digitized newspaper archives from around the globe. Elephind.com is focused on only historical, digitized newspapers. You can search, for free, across many newspaper sites simultaneously, rather than having to visit each site separately. Collections include: Trove [National Library of Australia], California Digital Newspaper Collection [UC Riverside], Chronicling America [US Library of Congress], Indiana Digital Historic Newspaper Program (Indiana State Library), and The Portal to Texas History.
GLBTQ: an Encyclopedia of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender & Queer Culture
Founded in 2000 by Publisher Wik Wikholm to create the world's largest encyclopedia of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and queer culture and history and to deliver it online.
Kinsey Institute for Research in Sex, Gender, and Reproduction
Institute focusing on human sexuality and relationships through research, outreach, education, and historical preservation
LGBTQIA Center from the San Francisco Public Library
Collections focusing on the collection, preservation, and access to materials on all aspects of the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, questioning and ally experience.
New America Media
New America Media is the country's first and largest national collaboration and advocate of 2000 ethnic news organizations. Over 57 million ethnic adults connect to each other, to home countries and to America through 3000+ ethnic media, the fastest growing sector of American journalism.
Suffragists Oral History Project
from the Bancroft Library's Regional Oral History Office, collected interviews with twelve leaders and participants in the woman's suffrage movement.
Offers a Trans database of book, book chapter, article, and web citations.
Women Working (Harvard University Libraries and Museums)
Focuses on women's role in the United States economy and provides access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections. The collection features approximately 500,000 digitized pages and images including: 7,500 pages of manuscripts, 3,500 books and pamphlets, and 1,200 photographs.