Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Scene/Set Design Books in Murphy Library
Remember when you are searching the library catalog that there are two ways to spell it: theater and theater. If you search for theat* it will look for both (and theatrical, theaters, etc.)
Most books in this category will have call numbers in the areas of PN2080-PN2099 and ND2885 for scene painting.
Daphne Dare Collection
This collection includes costume and scene designs from more than fifty productions by British designer Daphne Dare (1929-2000). Dare designed for major theatres on both sides of the Atlantic as well as for television and film.
Helen Louise Allen Textile Collection
The mission of the Helen Louise Allen Textile Collection is to further "the understanding of human beings within their material and social environments through the study of textiles of artistic, cultural, and historic significance." It is primarily a teaching collection serving the University of Wisconsin-Madison's School of Human Ecology's Design Studies Department. It includes 13,000 textiles and related objects spanning spanning various places, techniques, and time periods.
Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online Catalog
The collections of the Prints & Photographs Division include photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.
Lucas Museum of Narrative Art - Set Design
A collection of narrative art that tells stories from many places and times—some you will recognize, others that will become new favorite tales.
Motley Collection of Theatre and Costume Design
The digitized version of the Motley Collection of Theatre and Costume Design is based on originals housed in the Rare Book & Manuscript Library at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. The Motley Collection consists of over 5000 costume and set designs, sketches, notes, photographs, prop lists, storyboards, and swatches of fabric. The collection documents 150 productions of Shakespeare and modern classics, dating from 1932 to 1976, staged in England and the United States, from the West
New York Public Library Digital Collections
This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring over 700,000 prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.
Virtual Tours: Museums
Over 300 virtual tours and museums around the world.