Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Topo North America (DeLorme)
2D and 3D current U.S. and Canada topographic maps and detailed streets; major roads for Mexico; over 4 million places-of-interest (POIs) in the U.S. and Canada; extensive U.S. trails network and public lands, including Bureau of Land Management. Version 10.0 (2013).
Available on the fourth (right-most) CD-ROM station in the reference area of the library.
Science Citation Index Expanded (Clarivate Analytics) @ Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Part of the Web of Science Core Collection
. Fully covers all articles (more than 53 million) published in over 9,200 scholarly journals across 178 scientific disciplines, and covers the cited references found in each article (over 1.18 billion cited references). Offers cited reference searching to find all the articles that have cited a given article since it was published (footnotes in reverse). Coverage: 1900-present.
AGRICOLA (U.S. Department of Agriculture) This link opens in a new window
5.2 million+ citations for journal articles (1700+ journal titles currently indexed), monographs, serials, audiovisual materials and online content from around the world from as far back as the 15th century. Covers all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Full-text database with over 700 journals and magazines covering computing, technology and engineering disciplines.
eHRAF Archaeology (Human Relations Area Files) This link opens in a new window
eHRAF Archaeology is a cross-cultural database designed to facilitate comparative archaeological studies. The database is organized by archaeological traditions and the documents are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. Each tradition file consists of a general summary and full-text sources including books, journal articles, dissertations, and manuscripts.
eHRAF World Cultures (Human Relations Area Files) This link opens in a new window
eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural and ethnographic database that contains descriptive information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and every document is subject-indexed at the paragraph level, facilitating precise retrieval within documents. eHRAF is the online portion, covering approximately 150 cultures. Together with the corresponding microfiche set (Murphy Library basement), over 400 cultures are covered.
Gale In Context: Science This link opens in a new window
With contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics, this collection includes millions of full-text articles from national and global publications as well as more than 200 experiments, projects, and top reference content.
Gale OneFile: Agriculture This link opens in a new window
This collection of more than 600 journal titles is focused on agriculture-related fields, with strong emphasis on titles covered in the AGRICOLA database.
Geographic Names Information System - GNIS
Contains the Federally recognized names of physical and cultural geographic features in the U.S. Defines feature locations by state, county, USGS topographic map, and geographic coordinates.
From the Applied Population Laboratory (APL) at UW-Madison. An interactive mapping and data extraction tool for Wisconsin demographics. Allows users to choose demographic variables and append it to the geography of their choice. Includes Census 2000, Census 2010, and the latest ACS data since 2005.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Please note: Murphy Library's subscription to the IEEE Xplore Digital Library ended on November 30, 2020. The library retains access to content published through that date and has begun individual subscriptions to select titles in the collection.
Use this resource to locate literature published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and its publishing partners, including the Institute of Electrical Engineers (IEE). Contents include IEEE and IEE journals, IEE conference proceedings and IEEE standards. Subjects covered include engineering, computer science, biology, chemistry, physics, etc.
National Climatic Data Center Image & Publication Systems
From NOAA. Local Climatological Data, Climatological Data, Hourly Precipitation Data, Storm Data, Monthly Climatic Data for the World, COOP Data / Record of Climatological Observations Form, Climatological Data National Summary
Over 70 years of research results from DOE and its predecessor agencies. Contains over 3 million records, including citations to 1.5 million journal articles, plus technical reports; scientific research datasets and collections; scientific software; patents; conference and workshop papers; books and theses; and multimedia.
Science (AAAS) Note
: As of November 2019, current content from Science
should be accessed through the Academic Search Ultimate
database. The complete archive—from 1880 to the present with a rolling 6-year embargo—also remains available through JSTOR
A weekly online publication that covers scientific training, career development, and the science job market.
Science Reference Center (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
This database includes full text access to science reference books, encyclopedias, essays, and biographies of scientists as well as full text articles from science periodicals. Access alternative interface
Research Data - Geography