Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
: Murphy Library's subscription now includes access to SciFinder-n
, the new generation of SciFinder. To access either version of this database, you must first create a user account
using your UWL e-mail.
Collection of databases: CAS REGISTRY (>200 million chemical substances and sequences), CAplus (Chemical Abstracts index to chemistry literature since 1907 with some earlier coverage), CASREACT (>100 million reactions and preparations), CHEMCATS (chemical suppliers), CHEMLIST (regulations on >350,000 chemicals), MARPAT (>1.1 million Markush structures from patents), MEDLINE (from NLM; index to biomedical literature since 1966).
ACS Publications (American Chemical Society)
Access to more than 30 ACS chemistry journals. Also includes current news and educational resources in the field of chemistry.
BRENDA (Dept. of Biochemistry and Bioinformatics at TU Braunschweig)
Maintained and developed at the Institute for Biochemistry and Bioinformatics at the Technical University of Braunschweig, BRENDA includes scientific data of all known enzymes, classified according to the EC system. Information comprises not only kinetical, structural, stability and genome properties but also methods to isolate and analyze the enzyme.
PubMed (U.S. National Library of Medicine)
PubMed is a free service from the National Library of Medicine containing citations and abstracts of articles, primarily in the fields of biomedicine and health. It includes the MEDLINE database and additional life science journals and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Collection of databases: Reaxys (Beilstein and Gmelin handbooks of >75 million chemical substances, plus literature index including patents), Reaxys Medicinal Chemistry (>40 million chemical substances and bioactivity datapoints, plus literature index), PubChem (from NLM; >91 million chemical substances), eMolecules (chemical suppliers), LabNetwork (chemical suppliers), Sigma-Aldrich (chemical supplier).
Includes 2,500 journals and 11,000 books published by Elsevier in the areas of health & life Sciences, physical sciences, and social & behavioral Sciences. Thanks to funding by academic initiatives, we now have the "complete" collection, which includes pre-1995 Journal Content with deep coverage available back to Volume 1, Issue 1 and practically all Elsevier online books, including Major Reference Works, Books Series, Handbooks, eBooks Front lists and Back lists back to 1995.
Science Citation Index Expanded (Clarivate Analytics) @ Web of Science
Part of the Web of Science Core Collection
. Fully covers all articles (more than 53 million) published in over 9,200 scholarly journals across 178 scientific disciplines, and covers the cited references found in each article (over 1.18 billion cited references). Offers cited reference searching to find all the articles that have cited a given article since it was published (footnotes in reverse). Coverage: 1900-present.
Cambridge Structural Database (Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre)
The Cambridge Structural Database (CSD) includes bibliographic, chemical and crystallographic information for small organic molecules and metal-organic compounds. There are two versions of this database: a desktop version that requires local installation and an online version called WebCSD, which is linked above. WebCSD is updated frequently and allows for searching of the full CSD, including similarity searching, which is not available in the desktop version. However, the desktop software includes a number of additional applications not available through the web interface, including ConQuest, Mercury, Mogul, IsoStar, and the CSD Python API. More information about these applications can be found here
. The Desktop software is available on all four CD-ROM stations in the reference section of the library, and is also available for individual download upon request. Please contact the e-resources librarian
for more information.
This resource does not work correctly in the Google Chrome browser.
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost
Full-text database with over 700 journals and magazines covering computing, technology and engineering disciplines.
Gale In Context: Science
With contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics, this collection includes millions of full-text articles from national and global publications as well as more than 200 experiments, projects, and top reference content.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library
Please note: Murphy Library's subscription to the IEEE Xplore Digital Library ended on November 30, 2020. The library retains access to content published through that date and has begun individual subscriptions to select titles in the collection.
Use this resource to locate literature published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and its publishing partners, including the Institute of Electrical Engineers (IEE). Contents include IEEE and IEE journals, IEE conference proceedings and IEEE standards. Subjects covered include engineering, computer science, biology, chemistry, physics, etc.
NIST Chemistry WebBook
Provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program.
IOPscience Journals (Institute of Physics)
Note: This resource was previously listed as Physics Electronic Journals.
Full text access to more than 70 scholarly journals in physics and engineering. Also includes Physics Reviews which brings together review articles published in the Institute's journals including topical reviews as well as those from Reports on Progress in Physics.
PubChem (National Center for Biotechnology Information)
Consists of three sub-databases: PCSubstance contains over 850,000 chemical structures, descriptions, and more. PCCompound contains over 650,000 validated chemical depictions. PCBioAssay contains more than 170 bioactivity screens of chemical substances.
Over 70 years of research results from DOE and its predecessor agencies. Contains over 3 million records, including citations to 1.5 million journal articles, plus technical reports; scientific research datasets and collections; scientific software; patents; conference and workshop papers; books and theses; and multimedia.
: As of November 2019, current content from Science
should be accessed through the Academic Search Ultimate
database. The complete archive—from 1880 to the present with a rolling 6-year embargo—also remains available through JSTOR
A weekly online publication that covers scientific training, career development, and the science job market.
Science Reference Center (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost
This database includes full text access to science reference books, encyclopedias, essays, and biographies of scientists as well as full text articles from science periodicals. Access alternative interface