Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music (SUBJECT GUIDE): Popular Music

A comprehensive resource guide for music research

Popular Music Guides and Encyclopedias

All Music Guide: The Best CDs, Albums, & Tapes / Michael Erlewine, ed.
REF ML 156.9 .A56 1992

All Music Guide to Rock: The Definitive Guide to Rock, Pop, and Soul / Vladimir Bogdanov, Chris Woodstra, & Stephen Thomas Erlewine
REF ML 156.9 .A39 2002

Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music / John Shepherd
REF ML 102 .P66 C66 2003 v.1-10

Encyclopedia of Pop, Rock & Soul / Irwin Stambler
REF ML 102 .P66 S8 1989

Encyclopedia of Rock / Phil Hardy & David Lang
REF ML 102 .R6 E55 1988

Find That Tune: An Index to Rock, Folk-Rock, Disco, & Soul in Collections / William Gargan and Sue Sharma, eds.
REF ML 128 .R6 F56 1984

The Guinness Encyclopedia of Popular Music / ed. by Colin Larkin
REF ML 102 .P66 G84 1995

Lissauer's Encyclopedia of Popular Music in America: 1888 to the Present / Robert Lissauer
REF ML 128 .P63 L57 1996 v.1-3

The New Rolling Stone Record Guide / Dave Marsh and John Swenson, eds.
REF ML 156.4 .P6 M37 1983

The Oxford Companion to Popular Music / Peter Gammond
REF ML 102 .P66 G35 1991

The Rolling Stone Encyclopedia of Rock & Roll / Holly George-Warren and Patricia Romanowski, eds.
REF ML 102 .R6 R64 2001

The Rolling Stone Illustrated History of Rock & Roll / Jim Miller, ed.
ML 3534 .R64 1980

Popular Music Websites

Popular Music General Reference

American Popular Music: The Rock Years / Larry Starr & Christopher Waterman
ML 3534.3 .S73 2006 (and online)

The Complete Encyclopedia of Popular Music and Jazz, 1900-1950 / Roger D. Kinkle
REF ML 102 .P66 K55 v.1-4

Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World / John Shepherd, ed.
REF ML 102 .P66 C66 2003 v.1-10

The Encyclopedia of Pop, Rock, & Soul / Irwin Stambler
REF ML 102 .P66 S8 1989

The Encyclopedia of Popular Music / Colin Larkin, ed.
REF ML 102 .P66 G84 2006 v.1-10 (and online)

The Encyclopedia of Rock / Phil Hardy & Dave Laing
REF ML 102 .R6 E55 1988

Encyclopedia of Rock Stars / Dafydd Rees & Luke Crampton
REF ML 102 .R6 R44 1996

The Great Song Thesaurus / Roger Lax & Frederick Smith
REF ML 128 .S3 L4 1989

The Guinness Encyclopedia of Popular Music / Donald Clarke, ed.
ML 102 .P66 G84 1995

Lissauer's Encyclopedia of Popular Music in America: 1888 to the Present / Robert Lissauer
REF ML 128 .P63 L57 1996 v.1-3

The Literature of Rock 1954-1978 / Frank Hoffmann
REF ML 128 .R6 H6

The Oxford Companion to Popular Music / Peter Gammond
REF ML 102 .P66 G35 1991

Popular Music: An Annotated Index of American Popular Songs
REF ML 120 .U5 S5 v.1-6

The Rock Music Source Book / Bob Macken, Peter Fornatale, & Bill Ayres
REF ML 3534 .M3

Rock On Almanac: The First Four Decades of Rock 'n' Roll / Norm N. Nite
REF ML 3534 .N58 1989

The Rock Who's Who / Brock Helander
REF ML 102 .R6 H5 1996

That Old Time Rock & Roll: A Chronicle of an Era 1954-1963 / Richard Aquila
REF ML 3534 .A68 1989

Singles/Albums

All Music Guide: The Best CDs, Albums, & Tapes / Michael Erlewine & Scott Bultman
REF ML 156.9 .A56 1992

American Popular Songs from the Revolutionary War to the Present / David Ewen
ML 128 .N3 E9

Million Selling Records from the 1900s to the 1980s: An Illustrated Directory / Joseph Murrells
REF ML 156.4 .P6 M88 1985

The New Rolling Stone Record Guide / Dave Marsh, ed.
REF ML 156.4 .P6 M37 1983

Popular Music: An Annotated Index of American Popular Songs
REF ML 120 .U5 S5 v.1-6

New Rock Record / Terry Hounsome
REF ML 156.4 .R6 H68 1983

The Trouser Press Guide to '90s Rock: The All-New Fifth Edition of The Trouser Press Record Guide / Ira A. Robbins, ed.
REF ML 156.4 .R6 T75 1997

Individual Artists & Bands

Bob Dylan / Keith Negus
ML 420 .D98 N44 2008

Bowie on Bowie: Interviews and Encounters with David Bowie
Online Book

Chuck Berry: The Autobiography
ML 420 .B365 A3 1987

Crosby, Stills & Nash: The Authorized Biography / Dave Zimmer
ML 421 .C76 Z5 2000

Elvis Presley, a Bio-Bibliography / Patsy Guy Hammontree
ML 420 .P96 H35 1985

Garcia: An American Life / Blair Jackson
ML 419 .G36 J33 1999

Great Balls of Fire: The Uncensored Story of Jerry Lee Lewis / Myra Lewis with Murray Silver
ML 420 .L534 L5 1982

Great Men of American Popular Song: The History of the American Popular Song Told Through the Lives, Careers, Achievements, and Personalities of its Foremost Composers and Lyricists - from William Billings of the Revolutionary War to the "Folk-Rock" of Bob Dylan
REF ML 3551 .E83

The Lizard King: The Essential Jim Morrison / Jerry Hopkins
ML 420 .M62 H68 1992

Lyrics, 1962-1985 / Bob Dylan
​ML 54 .D94 L9 1985

Riders on the Storm: My Life with Jim Morrison and The Doors / John Densmore
ML 419 .D46 A3 1990

The Thrill of Michael Jackson / Paul Honeyford
​ML 420 .J19 H6 1984

Van Halen! / J.D. Considine
ML 421 .V36 C6 1985

The Velvet Underground / Richard Witts
Online Book