Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ASCAP - American Society of Composers, Authors, and Publishers
A membership association of more than 480,000 US composers, songwriters, lyricists and music publishers of every kind of music, owned and run by its members. They protect the rights of ASCAP members by licensing and distributing royalties for the non-dramatic public performances of their copyrighted works.
Broadcast Music, Inc. collects license fees from businesses that use music, which it distributes as royalties to songwriters, composers & music publishers. This is one of a couple of sites you can search to see if something is still under copyright.
Harry Fox Agency
HFA is the foremost mechanical licensing, collection, and distribution agency for music publishers in the U.S.
LIbrary Copyright Digital Slider
Use this handy guide to help determine if a work first published in the USA is still under copyright or in public domain!
PD INFO - Public Domain Music
A reference site to help identify public domain songs and public domain music . . . lists of public domain music, royalty free music recordings you can license, and public domain sheet music reprints.
Jobs in the Music Business
Look here for job postings, audition info, instrument sales, instructional courses, etc.
Lyric Theatre Sites
Rodgers and Hammerstein Organization
Begun in 1944 by Rodgers & Hammerstein, this organization represents their work and others of their ilk. On the site's homepage, visitors will find sections that include "Shows", "Songs", "Concerts", and "Gallery."
"An online metronome ideal for quick and easy use while practicing music, this music tool helps with your rhythm as well as tempo selections and it is always available for free to all students of music at metronomeonline.com."
General Music Web Resources
From William J. Zick, this Web site was launched in 2000 as a nonprofit educational venture promoting awareness of African Heritage in Classical Music. It includes links to info about Black History and composers and musicians of African descent. The site also sponsors a blog.
All About Jazz
A comprehensive resource for jazz fans and musicians, this site includes lists of articles, columns, CD and book reviews, musician interviews, news releases, and links to other jazz-related resources on the Web.
Allmusic can be used to look up an out-of-print recording, to get our take on a new release, or simply to explore the world of music.
ArtsJournal: Daily Art News
Provides a "digest of arts and cultural journalism in the English-speaking world, with links to stories in more than 200 free access newspapers, magazines, and publications ... Those eager to keep a finger on the pulse of the arts will find this a valuable resource." M. Nilsen, IU, South Bend
Bachtrack: The World's Best Way to Find Live Classical Music
Find out how many times a classical piece has been publicly performed in a given year!
The largest classical event finder online. They list over 12,000 upcoming events in classical concerts, opera and dance. They also publish around 200 reviews every month from around the world.
Boston Symphony Orchestra Podcasts
Here visitors can watch and listen to the Boston Symphony Orchestra. The archive of performances dates back to 2007, and visitors can read program notes from each performance and also sign up to receive their latest offerings via RSS feed or iTunes. The site has a number of fun surprises, such as "The Complete Symphonies" guide to the symphonies of Beethoven.
CAIRSS for Music (Computer-Assisted Information Retrieval Service System)
CAIRSS is a bibliographic database of music research literature in music education, music psychology, music therapy, and music medicine.
A merged website for CDNOW and Amazon.com, where you can purchase CDs...etc.
Center for the History of Music Theory and Literature
A joint venture of Indiana University's Jacobs School of Music and the Office of Research and the University Graduate School. Includes resources on singing in foreign languages, music history research info and more.
Classical Music in Movies : a Listing by Composers
An index of classical and opera music used in over 1,000 feature films.
Classical Music Navigator
We have compiled information on important classical music composers and their works and arrayed these data in a fashion making it easier for the novice or casual listener to identify additional materials related to the work.
Geared primarily toward collector's of classical recordings, this site is divided into 7 sections: Basic Repertoire List, Classical CD Buying Guide, Recommended Classical CDs, Composer's Works and Data, Reviews and Articles.
Dolmetsch Online Music Dictionary
Music Dictionary Online's primary purpose is, in the case of non-English words and phrases, to offer translations and, more generally, and where appropriate, to offer explanations and comments about general (non-musical) and specialist (i.e. musical, etc.
Free Grove's Dictionary
The Music Dictionary features The Grove Dictionary of Music Vol II, the trusted music dictionary of musical terms and musicians for over 100 years. The Music Dictionary is free online and Vol II has over 10K music terms and musician bios for your personal and research use.
Dedicated to the study of musical instruments with an emphasis on research and history.
Great Conversations in Music
Provides access to films (available in RealPlayer) in five categories: Pianists, Composers, Chamber Music, Virtuosos, and Conductors. It also offers info about each participating musician, including external links.
Special features, program companions, multimedia presentations, and more from the long-running and award-winning PBS series.
Hear Here: The Royal Philharmonic Society Classic FM
Created in 2008, with the purpose of teaching listeners to listen more closely to music. Each month, the site explores a different aspect of listening, using key works of music to illustrate by example and for the basis of discussion. (T. Schime, from CHOICE review.)
Music & Dance Reference
Select "Music Collection Online" under "Category" and be led to over 70 links to online scores!
The site consists of five main features:
1. An online bibliography of music and dance bibliographies and reference sources.
2. A wiki devoted to music and dance reference information and resources.
3. A blog devoted to music and dance bibliography and reference.
4. Access to unpublished bibliographies.
5. An experimental Facebook network designed as a forum for interested librarians, scholars, and students.
Over 7,300 bibliographies and reference sources, free music-related online journals, and more
National Jukebox: Historical Recordings from the Library of Congress
This site was developed to provide access to historical sound recordings. The recordings digitized for the project are from labels owned by Sony Entertainment, which has granted the Library a limited no-cost license to use the materials. At present, the collection consists of approximately 10,000 Victor label recordings produced between 1901 and 1925, including repertoire from popular, folk, and operatic idioms.
New Music USA
"New Music USA serves as a portal to invaluable resources that it produces for contemporary musicians and composers as well as their audiences. Overall, it is easy to navigate, well organized, and visually appealing in its simplicity. Highlighted under the section for media are NewMusicBox and Meet the Composer Studio. NewMusicBox, a multimedia publication, offers Counterstream, a streaming radio site for American music; and Online Library, a comprehensive database of works by living American composers." (M. O'Brien, Binghamton University for CHOICE)
The site includes concerts, interviews, news, profiles, reviews, and studio sessions covering various genres of music. A link under "Discover Songs" allows users to identify and listen to music used between stories on NPR.
Online Books Page: Music
A list of links to electronic full-text books relating to music (browsing Library of Congress Call Numbers: "M3" to "M1503 .S8 T5").
Oriscus: Musical Instrument Information
Commercial site providing practical information relating to buying and selling instruments. Also, lists sources to aid in researching musical instruments.
PBS: Great Conversations
5-part series of films showcasing composers, pianists, chamber music, virtuosos and conductors. Offers biographies and discographies of each ot he participating musicians, musical examples and external links.
Performing Arts in America, 1875-1923
The New York Public Library's performing arts collection online.
Table of Musical Pitches
Allows users to click on a note on the keyboard and hear the pitch!
Use this site to identify classical tunes/motives. It's a bit complex to navigate but should be very useful to trained musicians!
Research Web Sites
Provides excellent information on disposing of a collection, including tips on selling a collection and a guide to finding the value of 78s.
The Aaron Copland Collection (from the Library of Congress' American Memory Project)
The online presentation of the Aaron Copland Collection at the Library of Congress comprises both manuscript and printed music, personal and business correspondence, diaries, writings, scrapbooks, programs, newspaper and magazine clippings...etc.
A free online resource that helps direct people interested in Beethoven to books, articles, scores, and other sources on the composer. Although it functions primarily as a catalog of the collections of the Ira F. Brilliant Center for Beethoven Studies, its also serves the broader purpose of providing a comprehensive and fully-indexed bibliography of materials relating to Beethoven, from a wide range of subject areas.
Charles H. Templeton, Sr. Music Museum
"Located on the fourth floor of Mitchell Memorial Library on the Mississippi State University campus,the Museum showcases a collection of musical instruments, recordings, and sheet music amassed over four decades by Starkville businessman Charles H. Templeton, Sr. Many of the 200 musical instruments, 22,000 pieces of sheet music, and 13,000 recordings that Templeton donated to MSU in 1987 are on display in the Museum. "
Chopin First Editions Website
An online resource of about 5,500 digital images uniting all of the first impressions of Chopin's first editions, thereby providing direct access to musicians and musicologists to some of the most important primary source materials relevant to the composer's music.
Concert Programmes Database
Officially begun in 2004 with funding from the U.K.'s Arts and Humanities Research Council, this database's mission is "to help researchers locate valuable primary source materials relevant to their research, and to assist librarians with determining priorities for collection development and preservation." It provides descriptions of concert programme collections held by leading libraries, archives and museums in the UK and Ireland ..."
Coptic Orthodox Liturgical Chant & Hymnody, The Ragheb Moftah Collection
This presentation explores some of the earliest music transcriptions by explorers, missionaries, and scholars in Egypt, highlighting Moftah's efforts to notate, record, and preserve all Coptic Orthodox hymns.
Felix Mendelssohn at the Library of Congress
To mark the bicentennial of the birth of composer Felix Mendelssohn on February 3, 2009, LC's Music Division, one of the world’s major repositories of primary source material related to the composer, is making available here on its Web site digital images of selected resources from its holdings.
IMAPSC: International Music Archives and Primary Source Collections
Hosted by Brigham Young University, this database points to about 2,300 music archives. If you enter at keyword search "composer*" it retrieves 395 archives.
In Mozart's Words
In Mozart’s Words provides multilingual access to an annotated version of the voluminous correspondence of Mozart and his family - approximately 1,400 letters - that will progressively be made available online on this website. The website offers i) a database of all references to people, places and musical works contained in the letters, facilitating the systematic search of all cited occurrences, and (see next screen)
The Leonard Bernstein Collection
A digitized select portion of the 400,000+ items in the music division's Leonard Bernstein Collection, including correspondence, program scripts, photographs, etc..
Library of Congress Name Authority.
Use this link to learn the "standardized" forms of composer names, musical compositions, subject headings for music-related subject headings.
Library of Congress Performing Arts Encyclopedia
The Performing Arts Encyclopedia (PAE) is a guide to performing arts resources at the Library of Congress. The PAE provides information about the Library's unsurpassed collections of scores, sheet music, audio recordings, films, photographs, etc.
Loeb Music Library (Harvard)
Preeminent music research collection that includes books, scores, and recordings; a world music archive; the world's largest collection of Turkish and Indian classical music; and extensive Mozart archives.
M Class - MUSIC (LC Classicfication Outline Online)
Books, bound periodicals, and scores in the library are arranged on the shelf in broad subject areas based on a system called the Library of Congress (LC) Classification.
Music Treasures Consortium
The Music Treasures Consortium provides online access to the world's most valued music manuscripts and print materials, held at the most renowned music archives, in order to further research and scholarship. Researchers can search or browse materials, access metadata about each item, and view digital images of the treasure via each custodial archive's Web site.
New York Philharmonic Archives
An outlet for historical information which will eventually cover from the earliest concerts thru 1970. Currently, the site focuses on 1943-1970, and includes over 3,220 programs, 1,365 scores, 4,200+ imagest, and some 330 business documents.
Online Resources for Music (Harvard)
This guide"provides a basis for beginning electronic research on a wide variety of topics in music, including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, music theory, composition, and performance practice. It collects links to archival collections, online scores and sound recordings; article indexes, discographies and bibliographies; scholarly societies; musical reference works; and a miscellany of useful websites."
Opening Night! - Opera & Oratorio Premieres
This application is a cross-index of data for over 38,000 opera and oratorio premieres. Originally compiled by Richard Parrillo, entries include works that received a public performance between the years 1589-1995.
PBS: Martin Scorsese Presents the Blues
Martin Scorsese recently produced a successful 7-film series about the blues. This PBS site offers detailed informatino about each film, including director info and a complete list of performers featured. It also includes director interviews.
Polish Society for Electroacoustic Music
The main goal of the Polish Society for Electroacoustic Music (PSeME) is a promotion of Polish electroacoustic art (electronic music, video art, sound installation, audiovisual and interactive art) abroad, inside the network of festivals, concert series and all other electroacoustic art projects coordinated by the International Confederation of Electroacoustic Music (CIME/ICEM) in Bourges (supported by UNESCO). Includes a playlist of streaming audios files.
RISM: Repertoire International des Sources Musicales
This database offers around 700,000 mainly manuscript sources catalogued in detail according to academic criteria. The manuscripts are currently stored in hundreds of libraries and archives around the world. A variety of search fields makes it possible to investigate not only according to particular composers, work titles or performance forces, but also by place and time of origin or various people like librettists, previous owners, and dedicatees.
ViFa Musik: Virtual Library of Musicology
A "central portal for music and musicology, allows you to access an extensive digital library containing the latest scholarly research and online resources. Using a single search engine you can find bibliographical data, full text data, and information about experts in musicology. ViFaMusik is “work in progress” and is continuously being extended."
Violin and Bow Makers
Over 14,000 biographies of violin and bow makers, including prices that their violins and bows have sold for
Wisconsin Alliance for Composers - Member Directory
Links to personal catalogs and contact information for members of WAC
This is the "open" (i.e., free!) version of WorldCat. It provides the ability to search the WorldCat catalog and by inputting your zip code, you can locate items in libraries closest to your home!
WWW Sites of Interest to Musicologists
Sponsored by AMS, a "revamped, expanded version of Worldwide Internet Music Resources." Sites grouped under 32 categories, including "Opera and Song," "Theory," Jazz," "Music by Women," etc. An excellent gateway to scholarly music resource