Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About Literature Reviews
Databases on this page are ideal for finding information published in journals and other scholarly sources. Comprehensive databases provide broad access to the published literature. Sometimes the full article is contained in the database, but other times you click on the button in these databases to find your access options for an article. From there, articles not held by Murphy Library can be conveniently requested through InterLibrary Loan.
Literature Review Databases, Basic
Gale In Context: Science This link opens in a new window
With contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics, this collection includes millions of full-text articles from national and global publications as well as more than 200 experiments, projects, and top reference content.
Science Reference Center (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
This database includes full text access to science reference books, encyclopedias, essays, and biographies of scientists as well as full text articles from science periodicals. Access alternative interface
Gale OneFile: Agriculture This link opens in a new window
This collection of more than 600 journal titles is focused on agriculture-related fields, with strong emphasis on titles covered in the AGRICOLA database.
Gale OneFile: Gardening and Horticulture This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals and magazines focused on horticulture studies. Includes content from more than 100 journals, as well as more than 20 reference titles.
Literature Review Databases, Comprehensive
Biological Abstracts (Clarivate Analytics) @ Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Covers over 4,300 scholarly journals in the life sciences, including agriculture, biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, ecology, the environment, microbiology, neurology, pharmacology, public health and toxicology. Coverage: 1994-present.
Science Citation Index Expanded (Clarivate Analytics) @ Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Part of the Web of Science Core Collection
. Fully covers all articles (more than 53 million) published in over 9,200 scholarly journals across 178 scientific disciplines, and covers the cited references found in each article (over 1.18 billion cited references). Offers cited reference searching to find all the articles that have cited a given article since it was published (footnotes in reverse). Coverage: 1900-present.
AGRICOLA (U.S. Department of Agriculture) This link opens in a new window
5.2 million+ citations for journal articles (1700+ journal titles currently indexed), monographs, serials, audiovisual materials and online content from around the world from as far back as the 15th century. Covers all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.
MEDLINE with Full Text (U.S. National Library of Medicine & EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Essentially equivalent to PubMed
from the National Library of Medicine, but with full text for select journals. Authoritative information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Over 4,800 current biomedical journals are indexed; full text for 1,470 journals. Uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). Incorporates PREMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, AIDSLINE & more.
Over 70 years of research results from DOE and its predecessor agencies. Contains over 3 million records, including citations to 1.5 million journal articles, plus technical reports; scientific research datasets and collections; scientific software; patents; conference and workshop papers; books and theses; and multimedia.
Preprint server for Biology, operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory (CSHL). A database of articles that have not yet been subject to peer review and published in a scholarly journal.
Preprint server, operated by Cornell University. A database of articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics that have not yet been subject to peer review and published in a scholarly journal.