Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Key Reference Sources
TAIR: The Arabidopsis Information Resource (Phoenix Bioinformatics) This link opens in a new window
The Arabidopsis Information Resource (TAIR) maintains a database of genetic and molecular biology data for the model higher plant Arabidopsis thaliana . Data available from TAIR includes the complete genome sequence along with gene structure, gene product information, gene expression, DNA and seed stocks, genome maps, genetic and physical markers, publications, and information about the Arabidopsis research community. Gene product function data is updated every week from the latest published research literature and community data submissions. TAIR also provides extensive linkouts from our data pages to other Arabidopsis resources.
Portal offers free access to research and development (R&D) results and scientific and technical information from scientific organizations across 13 federal agencies.
Key Literature Review Databases
Biological Abstracts (Clarivate Analytics) @ Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Covers over 4,300 scholarly journals in the life sciences, including agriculture, biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, ecology, the environment, microbiology, neurology, pharmacology, public health and toxicology. Coverage: 1994-present.
Science Citation Index Expanded (Clarivate Analytics) @ Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Part of the Web of Science Core Collection
. Fully covers all articles (more than 53 million) published in over 9,200 scholarly journals across 178 scientific disciplines, and covers the cited references found in each article (over 1.18 billion cited references). Offers cited reference searching to find all the articles that have cited a given article since it was published (footnotes in reverse). Coverage: 1900-present.
BioOne This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text articles from over 80 high impact journals in biological, ecological and environmental studies.
Please Note: UW System-wide access to the full BioOne.1 collection ended on December 31st, 2018. Murphy Library retains access to content published through the end of 2018 and has begun individual subscriptions to select titles in the collection.
Help is Available - Ask a Librarian
The Department of Biology at UWL maintains a website which includes guidelines for writing different types of papers, posters, and other types of communication in the biological sciences.