Skip to Main Content

Curriculum Center & Curriculum Collections: Book Awards

Due to the coronavirus upset, many publishers and educational organizations have exceptional online content for children, teachers, parents, and anyone interested in children's books

How do I...

How do I find award winning books?

The first thing to know is that our award winning books are integrated into the entire collection. This means that there is not a separate place for awarding winning books. Since much of our collection is based on award winning and honor books, it wouldn't make much sense to create a separate place for them.

To find an award winning book is a two step process. It starts with the title of an award winning book. Libraries generally organize books either by author's last name or according to a system (numbers and letters, like the Dewey Decimal system in school and public libraries). Libraries generally do not organize books by title or illustrator. 

  1. Finding a title: The major awards for children's literature are listed below (in alphabetical order). Take a few minutes to briefly see what subjects are covered in awards and choose one that interests you. Each award website lists winners and honor books by year. Choose your title(s) and note them for step two.
  2. Locating a book: Use your library's online library search tool, for example Murphy Library's search tool, and type in the book's title. The results will bring up the book's record, where you can see the book's availability, its status, and location. There are floor plans located throughout to help you navigate the space and find your book. Contact the Curriculum Collection Librarian for more assistance ( if you encounter troubles. 

Literature, Multicultural & Diversity Children's Awards

undefined The Amelia Bloomer Project is "an annual booklist of the best feminist books for young readers, ages birth through 18," and is sponsored by the Feminist Task Force of the Social Responsibilities Round Table of the American Library Association. All winners listed here

undefined The American Indian Youth Literature Award, including past winners. 

undefinedThe Américas Award for portraying Latin America, the Caribbean, and the Latinx experience in the U.S. Past winners here

undefinedThe Arab American Book Award honors books by and about Arab Americans, including past winners. 

undefinedThe Asian Pacific American Award for Literature, young adults and picture books, including past winners. 

undefinedThe Batchelder Award for children's books originating in a country outside the U.S. and translated into English. Past winners here

undefinedThe Caldecott Medal Winner is given  to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. Current and past winners here and honor books here. 

undefined The Charlotte Zolotow Award is sponsored by the Cooperative Children's Book Center (CCBC) for the best picture book published in the U.S. Current and past winners here. 

undefined The Children's Africana Book Award honors children's books taking place in a country on the African Continent--current and past winners. 

undefined The Dolly Gray Children's Literature Award honors children's and young adults books that portray developmental disabilities. 

undefinedThe Ezra Jack Keats Award for new writers/illustrators who celebrate the universal qualities of childhood. Past winners here

undefinedThe Freeman Book Award honors East and Southeast Asia books for children--current and past winners. 

undefined  Best Graphic Novels List is created annually by the Young Adult Library Services Association. Current and past lists here. 

undefined The Jane Addams Peace Award awards books that engage children in thinking about peace, social justice, global community, and equity for all people. All winners listed here

undefinedThe Michael L. Printz Award for the best writing in books for teens. Current and past winners here. 

undefined The Middle East Book Award includes youth literature, youth nonfiction, and picture book categories. 

undefined The (William) Morris Award honors a book published by a first-time author writing for teens and celebrating impressive new voices in young adult literature. 

undefined  The (John) Newbery Award is awarded for the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children. Current and past winners and honor here.

undefined  The Pura Belpré Award honors a Latino/Latina writer or illustrator for children and young adults. Current and past winners here

undefined The Rainbow Project Books List is list of recommended books dealing with LGBTQIA+ issues and situations for youth up to age 18.

undefined  The Schneider Family Book Award honors a book that embodies an artistic expression of the disability experience for children and young adults. Current and past winners here. 

undefined The Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction for young adults, including past winners. 


The South Asia Book Award honors children's books that portray South Asia or South Asians living abroad.


undefined The Stonewall Book Award honors the LGBQIA+ experience. Current and past winners here. 

  Tomas Rivera Award  honors authors and illustrators who create literature that depicts the Mexican American experience. Winners and honor title (current and past years) here

undefinedOutstanding International Books List, including past winners. 


Informational (Science & Social Studies) Awards

undefined  The American Institute of Physics Science Communication Award for Children.  The list of past winners is here

undefined The Giverny Book Award. The list of past winners is here

undefined The Green Earth Award. The list of past winners is here

undefinedThe Mathical Prize. The list of past winner is on the same page. 

undefined The National Science Teacher Association (NSTA) Outstanding Science Trade Books, including past winners. 

undefined The NSTA comes up with a second list of Best Stem Books every year. The selection criteria and lists are listed here. 

undefined The Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal. The list of past winners is here

undefinedThe Science Book & Film Prize, including past winners.

undefined The STEAM Children's Book Prize (Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts, Math). Criteria--for past winners, search within site. 

undefinedThe YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction (Young Adults), including current and past winners.