This is the "Home" page of the "Women's, Gender, & Sexuality Studies (SUBJECT GUIDE)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Murphy Library

Women's, Gender, & Sexuality Studies (SUBJECT GUIDE)   Tags: subject_guides  

Last Updated: Oct 12, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uwlax.edu/womenstudies Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Featured Resources

Cover Art
Power, Resistance, and Literacy - Julie A. Gorlewski
Call Number: 2nd Floor Stacks: LB1631 .G655 2011
ISBN: 9781617354069
Publication Date: 2011

Cover Art
American Men and Women - New Strategist Press (Prepared for Publication by)
Call Number: Reference HC110.C6 A43
ISBN: 1940308046
Publication Date: 2013
Examines the multidimensional lives of today's American men and women to help track and understand their evolving lifestyles. Contains demographic data on the number of males and females, their changing age distribution, rising educational attainment, and diversifying racial composition. It also examines changing attitudes, use of time, and the latest labor force projections.

Maid in America - Women Make Movies
Call Number: Multimedia HD6072.2.U52 M35 2004
Publication Date: 2004


Cover Art
Encyclopedia of motherhood - Andrea O’Reilly, general editor
Call Number: HQ759 .E52 2010eb ONLINE
ISBN: 1412979277

 

Library News

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Key Resources

  • Women's Studies International (EBSCOhost)  Icon  Icon
    Citations and abstracts are drawn from a variety of essential women's studies resources which range in coverage from classic works & core studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research.
  • GenderWatch (ProQuest)  Icon  Icon
    Full-text from over 125 international publications (reports, pamphlets, papers, conference proceedings) devoted to women and gender issues. Coverage: 1970 to present.
    View a tutorial (UW System International Women's Issues Tutorials).
  • LGBT Life with Full Text (EBSCOhost)  
      
      Icon  Icon
    This database includes citations and abstracts as well as some full text for articles, books, and reference works on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues. (See More Information)
  • LGBT Thought and Culture (Alexander Street Press)  Icon  Icon
    A collection of books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. Content includes selections from The National Archives in Kew, materials collected by activist and publisher Tracy Baim from the mid-1980s through the mid-2000s, the Magnus Hirschfeld and Harry Benjamin collections from the Kinsey Institute, periodicals such as En la Vida and BLACKlines, select rare works from notable LGBT publishers including Alyson Books and Cleis Press, as well as mainstream trade and university publishers.
  • Dissertations & Theses [PQDT] (ProQuest)  
      
      Icon  Icon  Icon
    Index of all doctoral dissertations and some master's theses from most North American and many European colleges and universities. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and some retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Access made possible by UW-L Student Differential Tuition.
  • Vogue Archives (ProQuest)  
      
      Icon  Icon  Icon
    Vogue provides a record of American and international popular culture; a unique primary source for the study of fashion, gender and modern social history. Marketing students can research the history of a brand identity by viewing every advertisement for a brand such as Revlon, Coty, Versace or Chanel between specified dates. Researchers in cultural studies and gender studies can explore themes such as body image, gender roles and social tastes from the 1890s to the present.
  • Roper Center for Public Opinion Research and iPOLL (Roper)  
      
      Icon  Icon
    The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research and iPOLL (Roper) is a full-text, question-level retrieval system for all United States public opinion polling firms from 1935 to the present. Users have access to a broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more. International data sets are available for immediate download as well.
    Please note: Gallup Datasets are loaded quarterly.
 

Search@UW

Search@UW, our new search system, called a resource discovery layer, offers separate search functions in a single interface. 

Read more about Search@UW.


 

BrowZine

 

WGSS Library Resources

This handout outlines how your librarians can tailor different research tools and library resources for students, faculty, and staff. 

LibX Toolbar

Take Murphy Library with you as you search the internet!  The LibX toolbar links you back to Murphy Library resources and librarians whenever and wherever you are online.









University of Wisconsin-La Crosse
1725 State Street, La Crosse, WI 54601, USA | 608.785.8000
© Copyright
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip