Last Updated: Oct 9, 2014
- Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)
Spanish-, English-language and bilingual newspapers, magazines, and journals plus other ethnic, minority, and native press publications. Subject areas: general reference, history and politics, humanities and social sciences. Titles include: La Opinion, El Nuevo Herald, El Diario/La Prensa, Mundo Hispanico, Hispanic, The Hispanic Outlook in Higher Education
- Ethnic News Search - LexisNexis Academic (LexisNexis)
Ethnic News is a database of highly selected articles from the ethnic and minority press in America. Publications from African Americans, Hispanics, Latinos, Chicanos, Native Americans as well as Asian, and European Americans are represented in Ethnic News.
- Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
Provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 2,000 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
- SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOhost)
SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 890 journals and includes full text for more than 850 books and monographs, full text for 16,800 conference papers, and profiles for 25,000 scholars in the field. Topics covered include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, and many others.
- eHRAF World Cultures (HRAF)
A cross-cultural database that contains over 350,000 pages of information on all aspects of cultural and social life. eHRAF is the online portion, covering approximately 150 cultures. Together with the corresponding microfiche set (Murphy Library basement), over 400 cultures are covered.
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 (Newsbank)
Provides access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This collection features papers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.
- Accessible Archives (Accessible Archives, Inc.)
This resource includes text from historical periodicals and books including eyewitness accounts of historical events, descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements and genealogical records. Collections include but are not limited to African American Newspapers, The Civil War Collection, The Pennsylvania Gazette, South Carolina Newspapers, Godey`s Lady`s Book 1830-1898, the Lily, and The Virginia Gazette.