- Book Review Digest Retrospective (EBSCOhost)
Provides excerpts from, and citations to, reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction. Citations with excerpts of reviews of juvenile and adult fiction and nonfiction in the English language are included. Virtually every book has at least one substantial review excerpt, and most have at least two. Coverage: 1903-1982
- Book Review Index (Gale)
This resource is the best place to start when looking for book reviews. It includes more than 5 million citations for reviews from thousands of publications. Once you've found a citation of interest, click the GetTeXt button for full text access option to locate the complete review. Coverage: 1965 - present
- Dissertations & Theses [PQDT] (ProQuest)
Index of all doctoral dissertations and some master's theses from most North American and many European colleges and universities. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and some retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Access made possible by UW-L Student Differential Tuition.
- Films On Demand (Films Media Group)
Films On Demand is a web-based digital video delivery service that provides access to a dynamic collection (titles are added and removed twice each year) of over 9,000 educational videos and 95,000 video clips. Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, share playlists, personalize folders and manage their entire collection through an administrative reporting system.Quick Tip: Embed or link to videos in D2L
- Historical New York Times (ProQuest)
Online, full-image, and searchable content of The New York Times from September 18, 1851 to December 31, 2010. Includes articles, advertisements, and political cartoons. Search options include keyword, article type, by date, author, or browse by issue. Quick Tip: Search by "Review" Document Type to find book reviews.
- Historical Wall Street Journal (ProQuest)
Online, full-image, and searchable content of The Wall Street Journal from July 8, 1889 - December 31, 1996. In 1889, Dow Jones & Company first published The Wall Street Journal as a markets-focused newspaper for shareholders. Today, it focuses not only on the stock market, but on all aspects of global business, economics, and consumer affairs. Annual access fees for this resource are paid with Academic Initiative funds.
- Historical Washington Post (ProQuest)
The historical Washington Post (ProQuest) provides full page and article images with searchable full text from December 6, 1877- December 31, 1997. It is possible to limit by article type including: classified ad, display ad, editorial cartoon, letter, comic, editorial article, review, stock quote, and weather.
- JAMA (Journal of the American Medical Association)
Search or browse all issues going back to July 1883.
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences V - XIII
Access to the full text of over hundreds of scholarly journals from a variety of disciplines. Coverage: varies (some 19th century) to around 2005 (varies by title).
- JSTOR Life Sciences
Life Sciences comprises the largest collection of journals in the field sciences, and broad coverage of the health sciences. At more than 160 journals and 8 million pages, the collection is JSTOR's largest, spanning more than 340 years of science history and research in the sciences. Disciplines include aquatic science, botany, developmental & cell biology, ecology, paleontology, and zoology.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)
Brings together pro and con viewpoint articles from the Greenhaven Press book series, reference articles that provide context, 140 full-text magazines, academic journals, and newspapers, over 300 primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, multimedia, including images and podcasts, links to hand-selected web sites, and more. Access to this resource is made possible by UW-L Student Differential Tuition.
- ProQuest Criminal Justice (ProQuest)
ProQuest Criminal Justice (formerly ProQuest Criminal Justice Periodicals Index or CJPI) is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
- Public Affairs Index (EBSCOhost)
Public Affairs Index is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of national and global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international commerce and conflict. Access to this resource is made possible by UW-L Student Academic Initiative funding.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective (EBSCOhost)
An index of articles from the popular press covering the years 1890-1982 in areas such as: arts, business, computers, crafts, dance, drama, education, entertainment, fashion, film & television, food, gardening, health and medicine, home improvement, literature, news and current events, photography, popular and classical music, politics, popular culture, religion, sports and fitness, technology, transportation, and travel. Access to this resource is made possible by UW-L Student Differential Tuition. Quick Tip: Limit to Book Review in the "Document Type" area.
See Book Reviews In EBSCOhost
) guide for details.
- Reference Universe
A single, centralized access point to Murphy Library's collection of online and print reference works (subject encyclopedias, handbooks, compendia), allowing you to deeply search within the collection through tables of contents and actual back of the book indexes. Link directly into the work if available online. Covers 5,400 titles held by Murphy Library, and about 45,000 reference works total. Tutorial video
- ScienceDirect College Edition Complete (Elsevier)
Includes 2,500 journals and 11,000 books published by Elsevier in the areas of health & life Sciences, physical sciences, and social & behavioral Sciences. Thanks to funding by academic initiatives, we now have the "complete" collection, which includes pre-1995 Journal Content with deep coverage available back to Volume 1, Issue 1 and practically all Elsevier online books, including Major Reference Works, Books Series, Handbooks, eBooks Front lists and Back lists back to 1995.
- Social Explorer (Oxford University Press)
An online research tool that provides access to historical census data and demographic information. Includes US Census data from 1790 to 2000, all annual updates from the American Community Survey, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study from 1980 to 2000.
- Sunday Times (London) Digital Archive (1822-2006)
The Sunday Times has provided thoughtful analysis and commentary on the week’s news and society at large since 1822. Despite the similarity of names, The Sunday Times was an entirely separate paper from The Times until 1966, when both papers came under common ownership. To this day, The Sunday Times remains editorially independent from The Times, with its own remit and perspective on the news.
- The Times (London) Digital Archive (1785-2008)
Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
- Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive (1902-2009)
Since 1902, the Times Literary Supplement has forged a reputation for fine writing, literary discoveries and insightful debate. The TLS has attracted the contributions of the world’s most influential writers and critics, from T.S. Eliot and Virginia Woolf in the 1920s and 30s to A.N. Wilson and Christopher Hitchens in the 1990s and 2000s.
- Vogue Archives (ProQuest)
Vogue provides a record of American and international popular culture; a unique primary source for the study of fashion, gender and modern social history. Marketing students can research the history of a brand identity by viewing every advertisement for a brand such as Revlon, Coty, Versace or Chanel between specified dates. Researchers in cultural studies and gender studies can explore themes such as body image, gender roles and social tastes from the 1890s to the present.