Welcome To Murphy Library
We know you will find Murphy Library to be one of the most important resources on campus for fostering student academic success, supporting your research and assisting your curricular development endeavors. The library’s website is your fast access gateway to electronic information 24/7. The information in this guide will introduce you to your library staff and faculty librarian colleagues and the many resources and services available specifically to you. We also invite you to visit the library for a firsthand look at what the we have to offer and to make an Individual Research Consultation appointment for a more in-depth discussion with a librarian about the wealth of information available to you.
Library Instruction
- Information Literacy InstructionAt Murphy Library, we offer Information Literacy instruction that is customized to your class. Some examples of the concepts covered in an IL session include:
- Critically evaluating information found online
- Using the library’s databases, catalog, and other tools to find relevant sources
- Understanding the differences between scholarly articles and popular sources of information
The library has also developed learning materials for students, staff, and faculty to use as a supplement to information literacy instruction. These materials include
- Library Guides - offer guidance on how to find and use specialized resources like research databases, reference materials, and reliable websites
- Murphy Library Instruction Playlist - students can watch short videos on forming a database search strategy, using advanced search techniques, and how to use Search@UW.
- Library Skills Tutorials self-paced Canvas course - series of videos and tutorials covering topics including: using the library catalog, requesting materials from other libraries, forming searches, and assessing the results you retrieve. Use this self enroll link to access the course.
Online Forms
- Purchase RequestAnyone at UWL is able to request that Murphy Library purchase a particular book or other resource. Although the library cannot purchase every item requested, all requests will be considered.
- Course ReservesPut an item for your course on reserve for short-term checkout at the library's circulation desk.
How To
- Creating persistent linksHow to format article links so they work for all UWL students. Place these links in Canvas or on other course-related web pages.
Murphy Library News & Updates
Not Just Books!
- Ebooks & audiobooksThis guide contains information on the various ebook resources available through Murphy Library. This includes access to many popular fiction and nonfiction ebook and audiobook titles available for online checkout through OverDrive on the Libby app.
- New York Times (NYTimes.com Academic Pass)
This link opens in a new window
UWL students, faculty and staff can set up an Academic Pass to use the NYTimes.com website or News App. Learn how to activate, use or renew your NYTimes.com Academic Pass.
Academic Pass users have unlimited access to archived articles outside the 1923–1980 date range. Each day of their pass, users may access up to five complimentary articles published between the years 1923 through 1980. Passes do not include e-reader editions, Times Premier content or New York Times Games, New York Times Cooking or The Athletic. - Wall Street Journal (WSJ.com)UWL students, faculty and staff can set up a sponsored individual subscription to use the WSJ.com website or App. Learn how to activate and use your WSJ.com subscription.
Subscriptions include full access to WSJ.com articles, blogs, videos and press releases from the last four years. - Chronicle of Higher Education (Chronicle.com)Full, unrestricted access to the Chronicle.com website, which includes content back to 2015. More details and access instructions are available here.
- News SourcesMurphy Library provides access to a plethora of newspaper and news sources.
- Streaming Video ResourcesMurphy Library provides access to thousands of streaming video titles licensed for use by our faculty, staff, and students. Need a particular video for a course? This guide contains information on how to find a title or request one for purchase.
- Request Materials from Murphy or Other LibrariesMurphy Library offers many ways to access materials at our library and beyond. If an item is unavailable, or you need to place an item on hold at our circulation help desk, then there are three options: place a local hold request, request the item through UW Resource Sharing, or request the item through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
- Murphy Learning Center (MLC)(MLC) - The Murphy Learning Center is a place where all UW-La Crosse students can receive free tutoring services in a variety of courses. The MLC houses The Writing and Public Speaking Centers and is located on the second floor of Murphy Library.
- Citing Sources GuideThis guide provides guidance on how to create citations for a variety of citation styles,
Collections
Our general book collection is located on the 2nd floor of Murphy Library. The library also houses the following specialized collections.
- Special Collections & Area Research Center (ARC)Special Collections/ARC collects, preserves, and provides access to materials that due to their physical or intellectual properties require special handling and care. Types of materials available include rare books, regional and Wisconsin history books, fine-press publications, maps, oral history recordings and transcripts, university archives, and a large historic photograph collection.
- Digital CollectionsDigitally access unique and hard-to-find books, manuscripts, photographs, academic publications, and other La Crosse and UWL related materials.
- Curriculum CenterThe Curriculum Center supports the education curriculum of the School of Education and any children's and young adult literature courses taught at UWL.
- Government DocumentsAs a government depository, Murphy Library offers an extensive collection of government information resources.
Research Assistance
Librarians can help you learn to make the most of the information resources, tools, and services of Murphy Library and beyond!
Weekdays & Sunday afternoons (fall/spring):
Any time (year-round):
- Email us -- we'll email you back asap
- Schedule an appointment (in-person or online)
Local history and/or archives research? Special Collections / Area Research Center specialists are available!
- Email us at specoll@uwlax.edu
- Call us at 608.785.8511
Additional resources
Policies:
-
-
Proxy borrowing - Visit out website to learn how faculty and staff can grant another person the authority to pick up and checkout books on their behalf.
-
Other Resources: