Ethnic and Racial Studies (SUBJECT GUIDE): Home

SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 890 journals and includes full text for more than 850 books and monographs, full text for 16,800 conference papers, and profiles for 25,000 scholars in the field of sociology. Topics covered include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, and many others.

eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural and ethnographic database that contains descriptive information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and every document is subject-indexed at the paragraph level, facilitating precise retrieval within documents. eHRAF is the online portion, covering approximately 150 cultures. Together with the corresponding microfiche set (Murphy Library basement), over 400 cultures are covered.

Provides access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This collection features papers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles. Coverage: 1827-1998.

Primary source collections including: African American Newspapers, African American Newspapers in the South, The Civil War - Part I: A Newspaper Perspective, The Civil War - Part II: The Soldiers’ Perspective, The Civil War - Part III: The Generals’ Perspective, The Civil War - Part IV: A Midwestern Perspective, The Civil War - Part V: Iowa’s Perspective, The Civil War - Part VI: Northeast Regimental Histories, Frank Leslie’s Weekly (1855–1922), Godey’s Lady’s Book (1830-1898), The Virginia Gazette (1736–1780), The Woman’s Tribune (1883-1909), Women’s Suffrage Collection. Also includes several open access collections: History of Woman Suffrage, The Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalogue, The Pennsylvania Newspaper Record: Delaware County, Reconstruction of Southern States: Pamphlets, Scenes in the Life of Harriet Tubman, Twelve Years A Slave