Data and Datasets: Sources

ICPSR maintains and provides access to thousands of social science datasets for research and instruction. ICPSR maintains an Online Learning Center that contains subject guides which can facilitate embedding the use of data sets into the curriculum. First-time users will be asked to create an ICPSR MyData account; thereafter, you will need your email address and password to download data. Funding for this resource is provided by the College of Liberal Studies.

Datasets include public-domain and licensed information. Users can search and view charts, maps, and rankings of time series at the country, state, county, MSA, postal code, and census-tract/block group levels. All of the data are drawn from authoritative sources (including the International Monetary Fund) and are citable. The product provides high-level summary information as well as detailed line item views. Subject areas includes: Food & Agriculture, banking, Finance & Insurance, Criminal Justice & Law Enforcement, Education, Energy Resources & Industries, Government & Politics, Health & Vital Statistics, Housing & Construction, Industry, Business & Commerce, International Relations & Trade, Labor & Employment, Military & Defense, Natural Resources & Environment, Population & Income, Prices, Consumption & Cost of Living, Transportation & Traffic.

Please Note: This Madison-extended resource is no longer being updated with new content as of September 1, 2019.
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. It includes 20 book collections by theme, 24 periodicals, the OECD statistical databases, and the OECD Guidelines for the Testing of Chemicals. Publications can be accessed using the list of categories on the OECD iLibrary home page or they can be found by using a keyword search. An "advanced" search feature allows for searching of journals only.

The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research and iPOLL is a full-text, question-level retrieval system for all US public opinion polling firms from 1935 to the present. Users have access to a broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more. Through subject, word, organization, and date indexes, users can retrieve the complete question text and the percentage of respondents giving each response. iPOLL also provides study-level information including the name of the organization(s) that conducted and sponsored the poll, polling dates, polling method used, and a full description of the sample. Major survey research organizations represented in iPOLL include The Gallup Organization, The Roper Organization, Louis Harris and Associates, the National Opinion Research Center at the University of Chicago, ABC News, CBS News, NBC News, the Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, USA Today, The Washington Post and the Associated Press.
Please note: Gallup Datasets are loaded quarterly and reflect about 20% of all Gallup data.